Songs for Reggae Lovers
2 CD
February 24, 2008

Jacob Miller - Songs for Reggae Lovers Track list
Disc 1
  1. Jacob Miller - Baby I Love You
  2. Johnny Osbourne - Ice Cream Love
  3. Deborahe Glasgow - This Love
  4. Mighty Diamonds - Tonight I'm Gonna Take It Easy
  5. Cocoa Tea - Getting Closer
  6. John Holt - Sweetie Come Brush Me
  7. Gregory Isaacs - Caught You In A Lie
  8. Dennis Brown - Hello
  9. Bunny Rugs - Now That We Found Love
  10. Junior Delgado - Love Tickles Like Magic
  11. J.C. Lodge & Sugar Minott - Since You Came Into My Life
  12. Richie Stephens - Gave You My Heart
  13. Mykal Rose - Where Is That Love
  14. Don Carlos - I'm Not Crazy
  15. Barrington Levy - The Vibes Is Right
Disc 2
  1. Wayne Wonder - No Letting Go
  2. Freddie McGregor - Night Nurse
  3. Sanchez - Can We Talk
  4. Gregory Isaacs - Too Good To Be true
  5. Dean Fraser - Moonlight
  6. Frankie Paul - I Wanna Sex You Up
  7. Heather Cummings - Hanky Panky
  8. Chuck Fender feat. Cherine Anderson - Coming Over
  9. Mr. Vegas - Rise
  10. Sizzla feat. Morgan Heritage - All I Want
  11. Bushman - Your Love
  12. Cocoa Tea - One Woman Show
  13. Dennis Brown - There's Nothing Like This
  14. J.C. Lodge - Let Me Down Easy
  15. Richie Stephens feat. General Degree - Rock Me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 2
Last year Greensleeves Records started with a real massive reissue program. Beside the release of a lot of original albums, they also started to release compilations targeting on the main stream market. Last year brought the excellent "From Dubplate To Download", now at the beginning of 2008, we have "Songs For Reggae Lovers", again a double CD with 30 tracks.

There are a cartload of great tunes here, definitely too much to mention all of them. Well to name at least some personal favorites - this can't be done without Jacob "The Killer" Miller's Baby I lOve You so - maybe the only reggae tune where the version get's more famous. Who really doesn't know "King Tubby Meets Rockers Uptown"? Next Killer tune definitely is Johnny Osbourne's Ice Cream Love, followed by the sweet harmonies from The Mighty Diamonds on Tonight I'm Gonna Take It Easy. John Holt's Sweetie Come Brush Me has to be mentioned, also Richie Stephens' tune on Bob's "Waiting In Vain" riddim named Gave You My Heart. Who really doesn't know and loves Don Carlos brilliant tune I'm Not Crazy? Not enough killers for a compilation? No? Alright, let's go to CD 2 - starting with the massive hit No Letting Go from Wayne Wonder, Freddie McGregor's version of Gregory Isaacs' Night Nurse, the mighty combination of Chuck Fender and Cherine Anderson named Coming Over, Mr. Vegas' soulful rendition of Rise, Bushman's Your Love and Cocoa Tea's One Woman Show. CD 2 is as good as CD 1.

Greensleeves have done a great job here, this 30 track compilation has nearly a perfect flow, perfect for a sunny day. No hardcore stuff here, no bashment, no deep roots music, just - as the title of the compilations suggests - some nice lovers tunes. No surprises here, but the perfect flow makes it a worthwhile compilation! So if you need the perfect soundtrack for cruising around or chilling and for some romancing, here you have it.

Hopefully Greensleeves bring us more nice releases in the future. To me Greensleeves is nowadays the best reggae label, not only putting out their back catalogue, also their artist albums from last year had a brilliant quality (Chuck Fender, Sizzla, Natural Black, Ras Shiloh, Chezidek - you name them!) and the just released "Spring Sampler '08" is brilliant as well. Hopefully they keep on bringing more of this quality music, but this depends on all of us. If nobody buys the music, labels like Greensleeves cannot work longer and what then?