Soul Acoustic Riddim
Jam2 Records
Digital Release
October 16, 2012

Track list
  1. Khago - Take Me Away
  2. Gyptian feat. Camar - What If
  3. J-Bezz - Say A Prayer
  4. Liquid - Gangster Paradise
  5. Lutan Fyah - Struggle
  6. Natural Black - Don't Play With My Heart
  7. Sizzla - Never Sell Out Your Soul
  8. Fiona - Breathe Into Me
  9. Nikiesha Barnes - Sweetest Mistake
  10. Beres Brown - Heaven's Door
  11. Ishawna - Love
  12. Pressure feat. Paeday - Pain
  13. Jah Vinci - Have You Ever Lost A Friend
  14. Forelock - Oh Father
  15. Empress Elena - One And One
  16. Patexx - It Remain The Same
  17. Rannoy Gordon - Soul Acoustic Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Not only artists like Clinton Fearon, Tarrus Riley, and Richie Spice feel the need to record an acoustic albums, also producers seem to have an interest in producing an acoustic riddim set. Earlier this year producer Romain "Sherkan" Chiffre of Tiger Records came up with the "Dutty Foot" riddim, and now there's the release of the "Soul Acoustic" riddim, produced by the youngest son of the legendary King Jammy, Jammy James of Jam2 Records.

The beautiful guitar play is the dominant force of this 'unplugged' riddim, but for certain tunes Jammy James has added percussion or keyboard, which lightens it up en keeps things interesting. The production quality of this set along with most of the lyrics are sure to give you goose bumps when you sit down and listen to this collection. Some of the best vocally gifted artists like Gyptian, Fiona, Lutan Fyah, Natural Black and Nikeisha Barnes have voiced the "Soul Acoustic", which really pays. It makes that most of the cuts featured here are a real joy to listen to. These definitely include Lutan Fyah's "Struggle", Natural Black's lovers tune "Don't Play With My Heart", Sizzla's "Never Sell Out Your Soul", "Pain" by Pressure Busspipe feat. Paeday, Fiona's superb "Breathe Into Me", and Jah Vinci's moving "Have You Ever Lost A Friend", a tribute to Khajeel Mais which appeared as a pre-release single last year. Great soulful songs full of emotion.

All in all a very fine selection from start to finish.