Sparkplug Riddim
Truckback Records
Digital Release
July 5, 2009

Track list
  1. Beenie Man - Draw Me Out
  2. Elephant Man - You Caan
  3. Shaq The MC - My Time Now
  4. Erup - Fight
  5. Mr. Vegas - Life Alright
  6. Sizzla - More Riches
  7. Spice - Swear
  8. Deh Deh - Sharp
  9. Anthony B - Tight
  10. New Kidz - Wa Dat!
  11. Deva Bratt - Trackle
  12. Mr. Peppa - Journey
  13. Versityle - Seh Dem A Don
  14. Zebra - Right Away
  15. Dick Tracy - Camera Trick
  16. Terminal Dg - Kinda Wicked
  17. Steve & Adrian Locke - Sparkplug Riddim
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 4-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 6-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 11
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
The Truckback Records' production crew is seemingly unstoppable when it comes to musical creativity as they release a brand new riddim that undoubtedly is going to become one of this summer's hottest bashment projects. The "Sparkplug" riddim follows up the massive "Gearbox", known from Erup's international hit tune "Click Mi Finger", and the acclaimed "Ole Axle", "Clutch", "Dasboard" and "Springblade" riddims. Just like all these previous released backdrops the "Sparkplug" has been built and voiced in a studio located in the back of a container truck parked in the heart of New Kingston JA.

The awesome "Sparkplug" riddim has all ingredients a proper dancehall riddim needs to ram the dance floor. Incredibly tough snares, arabesque chords, and frenetic energy turn this riddim into a great vehicle for some of the hottest names in today's dancehall arena from Beenie Man, to Mr. Vegas, Elephant Man to Erup, Sizzla to Anthony B as well as for much promising newcomers like Shaq The MC, the sibling duo Deh Deh, Deva Bratt and New Kidz. Furthermore the "Sparkplug" gives way to rather unknown young talents like Dick Tracy, Terminal Dg and Versityle, and does it also feature Zebra's return to the dancehall battlefield.

Unlike many other bashment projects there's no weak effort included here. Seemingly the energetic grooves of the riddim has urged the artists to give their very best, which makes it a real joy to play each and every cut for the riddim. Beenie Man once again shows that he's a topnotch dancehall artist whose effortless flow across the riddim creates a wicked vibe on "Draw Me Out". Also Elephant Man fully lives up to expectations as he delivers the outstanding "You Caan" in his inimitable style. Truly a breathtaking opening of this 'one riddim' affair, and a hard task for Truckback's newest discovery Shaq The MC to keep up with the established names. However this very talented young singer displays such a unique lyrical flow that he easily holds his own. His "My Time Now" is a catchy melodic tune with hit potential. Erup follows up with "Fight", a great song that matches his breakthrough hit "Click Mi Finger" and most likely Erup's next big international hit. Mr. Vegas' "Life Alright" is another highpoint for the riddim and so is Sizzla's exceptional "More Riches". We're not even half-way this collection of tunes and we have been treated to one great tune after another. And it doesn't stop here, because tracks like Deh Deh's Hip Hop-influenced "Sharp", Anthony B's "Tight", New Kidz's "Wha Dat!", Deva Bratt's "Trackle", Mr. Peppa's "Journey" and Terminal DG's "Kinda Wicked" maintain the high quality level throughout and thus are all worth of hearing.

This "Sparkplug" set is strongly recommended to all hardcore fans of modern Dancehall.