Studio One DJ's 2
Soul Jazz Records-Munich
May 18, 2006

Track list
  1. Dennis Alcapone - Fever Teaser
  2. Prince Jazzbo - Pepper Rock
  3. Carey Johnson - Correction Train
  4. Bobby, Jackie & The Soul Vendors - Reggae Wiggle
  5. Prince Francis - Ethiopia
  6. Brigadier Jerry - Ram Dance Master
  7. King Stitt - No Man Version
  8. Little Joe - Gun Court
  9. Prince Jazzbo - Crab Walking (Discomix)
  10. Lone Ranger - Tribute To Bob Marley
  11. Soul Vendors - Whip Time
  12. Prince Francis Rocking Machine
  13. King Cry Cry - I Had A Talk
  14. Jim Brown - Clippin
  15. Jah Jesco & Jucey Bravo - West Gone Black
  16. Big Joe - Get Out Bald Head
  17. Dennis Alcapone - Home Version
  18. Lone Ranger - Keep On Coming A The Dance (Discomix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
The highly popular and much anticipated Studio One series from London based Soul Jazz Records gets another noteworthy addition with the release of the second volume of "Studio One DJ's". From the early reggae era to the dawning of the dancehall style many great DJ cuts were released by the foundation producer, the late Coxsone Dodd. Featured here are 18 vintage cuts from legendary DJ's (or toasters as they were called in the early days) such as Dennis Alcapone, Prince Jazzbo, Lone Ranger and Brigadier Jerry as well as lesser known artists such as Prince Francis, Bobby, Jah Jesco, King Cry Cry, and Carey Johnson. The set kicks off with Dennis Smith aka Dennis Alcapone, a highly original stylist who cut more than 130 tracks when he was at the peak of his popularity and powers between 1970 and 1973. "Fever Teaser", the compelling deejay version of Horace Andy's timeless Studio One hit "Fever", is a fine example of what was the fashion in the early 1970s. Snatches from the original vocals are included, with Dennis Alcapone interacting in his half-sung rhyming style to add comments. No less compelling are the other tracks with the original vocals included. These are "Pepper Rock", Prince Jazzbo's classic DJ version of Burning Spear's "Rocking Time", Carey Johnson's "Correction Train" (DJ version of "Selection Train" by the Selected Four), King Stitt's "No Man Version" (the DJ cut of Dennis Brown's "No Man Is An Island"), Prince Jazzbo's "Crab Walking" (versioning Horace Andy's "Skylarking") and Dennis Alcapone's version of Ken Boothe's "Home, Home, Home" entitled "Home Version". Other great tracks to enjoy are Prince Francis' wicked roots anthem "Ethiopia", Brigadier Jerry's "Ram Dance Master", performed across Alton Ellis' "I'm Just A Guy" riddim which also underpins Jim Brown's "Clippin", Lone Ranger's "Tribute To Marley" (the Studio One cut of Derrick Harriott's "Solomon"), and West Gone Black by Jah Jesco & Jucey Bravo. Needless to say that most of the tracks are driven by some of the finest and strongest riddims reggae has produced. All in all another set with classic Studio One material which can be recommended for collectors and novices alike.