Various artists album review
Studio One Dub
Soul Jazz Records-Munich
May 2 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Bionic Dub
  2. Take A Ride Version
  3. Sky Rhythm
  4. Taurus Dub 2
  5. Hooligan
  6. Dub Rock
  7. Rastaman Version
  8. Jah Jah Version
  9. Creator Version
  10. Running Dub
  11. Hi Fashion Dub
  12. Pretty Version
  13. Race Track Version
  14. Spawning
  15. In Cold Blood Version
  16. Chase Them Version
  17. Feel The Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5

"Studio One Dub" is the seventh volume in the excellent Soul Jazz Records series of releases from the Studio One label and they've managed to come up with yet another excellent cd, complete with the booklet and photos and interviews with Sylvan Morris aka the Dancing Operator and Coxsone Dodd. Sylvan Morris was the man responsable for mixing the bulk of the tunes here. Studio One in its heyday produced some of the most prodigious musicians and composers who cranked out new tracks at a prolific rate. On this CD you will hear some of the finest musicians of the day - The Sound Dimension, Soul Defenders, Roots Group, Brentford All Stars - these were the session musicians of the time for Studio One, all competent, talented people who formed many different lineups over the years.
This album includes dubwise recordings, mainly lifted from the classic series of dub albums originally issued during the mid-to-late seventies. Here you'll find the dubs of many classic Studio One tracks such as Horace Andy’s "Skylarking", the dub is entitled Sky Rhythm and Take A Ride Version, the dub to Johnny Osbourne's superb song "Truth and Rights" which he did over a riddim called "Take A Ride", first recorded by Al Campbell (not the Al Campbell!) in 1970. Also present here is the great John Holt's "Hooligan" riddim, first voiced at Studio One in 1969 as "Change Your Style". Then there's also the dub version of Freddie McGregor’s "Bobby Bobylon" called Hi Fashion Dub. Also don't forget to check the dub to Burning Spear's "Swell Headed", here renamed Dub Rock. Other highlights include beautiful mixes to Freddie McGregor's rasta anthem "Rastaman Camp", The Gladiators' amazing "Jah Jah Go Before Us", the dub to deejay Jah Jesco's cut to Owen Gray's version of Leroy Smart’s 1976 Channel One classic "Ballistic Affair", Spawning. A few tracks i.e. Creator Version (Dawn Penn's legendary "No No No"), In Cold Blood Version (an awesome mixed dub of Jackie Mittoo's "In Cold Blood") and Chase Them Version (a dub to Horace Andy’s "Mr Bassie" featuring deejay Lone Ranger) appear to be previously unreleased versions.
Most fans of ska, rocksteady and reggae will recognize the riddims that are the basis of these tracks and as far as long-time Studio One fans are concerned this selection may be a mite conservative. However, they will have rarely heard these golden riddims as crystal clean as this. To our knowledge this has to be the ultimate Studio One dub collection! Dark and brooding! Essential stuff.

Teacher & Mr. T.