Various artists album review
Studio One Rockers
Soul Jazz Records-Munich
18 - 02 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Sound Dimension - Real Rock
  2. Marcia Griffiths - Feel Like Jumping
  3. Freddie McGregor - Bobby Bobylon
  4. Horace Andy - Skylarking
  5. Lennie Hibbert - Village Soul
  6. Brentford All Stars - Greedy G
  7. Johnny Osbourne - Truths And Rights
  8. Ernest Ranglin - Surfin
  9. Michigan & Smiley - Eye Of Danger
  10. Dawn Penn - No, No, No
  11. The Skatalites - Phoenix City
  12. Prince Jazzbo - Crabwalking
  13. Jackie Mittoo - Hot Milk
  14. Lone Ranger - Badder Dan Dem
  15. Cedric Brooks - Ethiopia
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

Studio One Rockers is the fifth reggae release of the Soul Jazz Records crew. They run the popular 100% Dynamite club in north London and their previous releases were distinctive vintage compilations. This album comprises 15 classic Studio One tunes produced by the legendary Coxsone Dodd.
The albums kicks off with an instrumental by the Studio One house band Sound Dimension. Their real Rock was the basis for numerous versions and answer versions. Next comes Marcia Griffiths with one of her biggest Studio One hits Feel Like Jumping. Freddie McGregor contributes the title track of his crucial album 'Bobby Bobylon'. Horace Andy delivers Skylarking and the deejay version from Prince Jazzbo, Crabwalking is included here as well. Here you will also find some noteworthy instrumentals like guitarist Ernest Ranglin's Surfin, vibrafonist Lennie Hibbert's Village Soul and Cedric Brook's anthemic Ethiopia. Jackie Mittoo performs one of his finest tunes ever : Hot Milk. Although no weak tune is found here I have to mention the two killer tunes : Truths And Rights by Johnny Osbourne, which is drawn from his album of the same name. Any reggae collection without this album is incomplete ! The second killer tune is the extended version of Michigan and Smiley's Eye Of Danger, a tune across the Paragons' hit 'Danger In Your Eyes'.
One of the best Studio One compilations ever !

Teacher & Mr. T.