Studio One Roots 2
Soul Jazz Records-Munich
October 1, 2005

Track list
  1. Willie Williams & The Sound Dimension - Jah Righteous Plan
  2. Al Campbell - Take A Ride
  3. Cedric Im Brooks - Satta Massagana
  4. Joe Higgs & Ken Boothe - A Message Of Old
  5. Jackie Bernard - Jah Jah Walk
  6. Devon Russell - Jah Hold The Key
  7. Zoot Sims - Small Garden
  8. The Saints - Sleeping Trees
  9. Larry Marshall - Run Babylon
  10. Vin Gordon - Babylon Rock
  11. The Gladiators - Talawah
  12. Prince Francis - African Skank
  13. Cedric Im Brooks - Full Time
  14. Prince Lincoln - True Experience
  15. Joseph Hill - Behold The Land
  16. Winston Mathews - Sun Is Shining
  17. Karl Bryan - Lk Strut
  18. Zion All Stars - Holy Mount Zion
  19. Tommy Mccook & The DiscoSonics - Tenor On Call
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5
"Studio One Roots Vol 2" is the latest release on Soul Jazz Records, the London based label that has brought us a notable amount of real fine compilation sets featuring many gems from the vaults of Studio One. This new collection of tunes maintains the high standards already set by the wicked first volume, which was released in 2001. The compilers have delved deeper into the vaults of the legendary Jamaican Reggae label and come up with rare and classic roots as well as an unprecedented seven unreleased tracks that up till now have never been released before.

Roots and rastafarian music was being recorded at Studio One by Clement "Sir Coxsone" Dodd from the early 1960s onwards to the 1990s and this album reflects the depth and diversity of roots music at the label. In fact the music here reflects what was happening on the streets and echoes the desires and concerns of the common people.

From the slow-ska of Ken Boothe and Joe Higgs' A Message Of Old, to the deep instrumental jazz cuts of Cedric Im Brooks over classic roots riddims such as "the definitive reggae anthem" Satta Massagana to Winston Mathews stunning eerie version of Bob Marley & The Wailers' Sun Is Shining. Furthermore there are The Zion All Stars featuring the Burro rastafarian drumming of Count Ossie and the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari with Holy Mount Zion.

Larry Marshall's rootical vocal cut Run Babylon is followed by a beautiful unreleased trombone version from Vin Gordon, aka Dun Drummond Jnr. The late Prince Lincoln is present here with a true classic. True Experience was originally included on the sublime compilation set "Pirates Choice", which was (reluctantly) released by Coxsone Dodd in 2004 in response to the bootleg issued by Toronto based Connect Records. He cut this tune after splitting with the Tartans in 1969. The album closes in fine style with tenor giant Tommy McCook. He brings Tenor On The Call, which was featured on the flipside of the 12" Discomix of Cornell Campbell's cover of the Madlads "Ten To One".