Studio One Soul 2
Soul Jazz Records-Munich
CD + Double LP
March 25, 2006

Track list
  1. Jacob Miller - Westbound Train
  2. Hortense Ellis - People Make The World Go Round
  3. Horace Andy - Ain't No Sunshine
  4. Soul Vendors - Swing Easy
  5. The Heptones - Choice Of Colours
  6. Jackie Mittoo & The Brentford - Choice Of Music Part 2
  7. Prince Jazzbo - Fool For Love
  8. Cornell Campbell - Ten To One
  9. Winston Francis - Don't Change
  10. Jackie Mittoo - Jumping Jehosophat
  11. Tony Gregory - Get Out Of My Life Women
  12. Dub Specialist - Darker Block
  13. Little Joe - Red Robe
  14. Devon Russell - Make Me Believe In You
  15. Jerry Jones - Compared To What
  16. Ken Boothe - Thinking
  17. Anthony Carey - Land Call Africa
  18. Jackie Mittoo - Fancy Pants
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5
"Studio One Soul 2" is the long awaited second volume of one of the largest selling Soul Jazz/Studio One titles, "Studio One Soul", which was released some 5 years ago. This collection of tunes will appeal as much as an introduction to classic reggae as to connoisseurs.

Famous soul and funk artists such as Curtis Mayfield, The Delfonics, Aretha Franklin, The Temptations, The Four Tops, The Five Stairsteps, Marvin Gaye, The Stylistics, Lee Dorsey, Al Green, Syl Johnson and Otis Redding were a great inspiration for both the artist and producer Coxsone Dodd on the island, and their tunes were done over by an array of Jamaican artists.

Studio One Soul 2 takes you further into Jamaican music's fascination with American Soul and Funk music. Check out the unreleased gem by Jacob 'Killer' Miller, who does a haunting version of Dennis Brown's Westbound Train, the riddim quoting Al Green's soul classic 'Love and Happines'. Horace Andy's still going strong nowadays and here he performs the popular Bill Wither's classic Ain't No Sunshine.

From the musical 'Fiddler On the Roof' comes the riddim of Swing Easy brought to you by the immortal Soul Vendors. Curtis Mayfield was without doubt the main soul influence for many reggae groups during the sixties and seventies. When he wrote Choice Of Colours in 1969 The Heptones were Jamaica's most important vocal harmony group. Their rendition of the song still makes a strong impression. Jackie Mittoo comes next with the dubbed up intrumental cut of the song. For more Jackie Mittoo niceness listen to Jumping Jehosophat, his version of 'Is It Because I'm Black'. Marvin Gaye's 'What's Going On' has been reworked by Jackie as he likewise renames it Fancy Pants.

Prince Jazzbo takes Dawn Penn's evergreen 'No No No' for his dj interpretation and Cornell Campbell is in excellent shape singing across the Ten To One riddim, again a tune by soul icon Curtis Mayfield. Ranking Joe began his career as Little Joe. On this album he redoes the Termites' tune 'Rainbow', renaming it Red Robe.

This compilation features a mixture of classics, super-rare and unreleased tracks from the vaults of Studio One, all digitally re-mastered. Excellent stuff... not to be ignored!