Studio One Women
Soul Jazz Records-Munich
December 29, 2005

Track list
  1. Give Love Another Try - Claudette Mclean
  2. My Man - Jennifer Lara
  3. Deh Pon Dem - The Soulettes
  4. Dream Land - Della Humphrey
  5. Consider Me - Jennifer Lara
  6. War No Right - Denise Darlington
  7. I'm Just A Girl - Hortense Ellis
  8. No Bother With No Fuss - Angela Prince
  9. There's A Chance For Me - Jerry Jones
  10. King Street - The Soulettes
  11. Tell Me Where - Jennifer Lara
  12. I'll Give It To You - The Tonettes
  13. Tell Me Now - Marcia Griffiths
  14. You A Fool Boy - Angela Prince
  15. I Am In Love - Jennifer Lara
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3
"Studio One Women" is another excellent collection of classic original Studio One music released by London-based Soul Jazz Records. This brand new compilation set, which rightly celebrates the queens of the Jamaican music scene, features a wide mix of classics and obscurities from the finest female voices in reggae including well-known artists like Marcia Griffiths, Hortense Ellis and Jennifer Lara alongside far less known names such as Claudette McLean, Della Humphrey, Denise Darlington, Angela Prince, Jerry Jones and the vocal groups The Soulettes and The Tonettes. Ska, rocksteady, funky reggae, roots, dub mixes, disco mixes, they're all included on this entertaining set.

Jennifer Lara, who sadly passed away in 2005, is featured strongly with four tracks. First drops "My Man", her cut to John Holt's "Fancy Make Up" riddim, which is followed by her best known tune "Consider Me" on Delroy Wilson's "Movie Star" riddim, her cover version of Evelyn King's disco hit "I'm In Love" and "Tell Me Where". Another sorely missed songstress is Hortense Ellis, sister of Alton, who is present here with her appropriately re-titled (extended) version of her brother's hit "I'm Just A Girl". Marcia Griffiths (represented by "Tell Me Now") and Rita Marley are two of Jamaica's most famous female singers. Both these artists became internationally famous as The I–Threes (along with Judy Mowatt), Bob Marley's backing singers alongside The Wailers. Two titles from Rita Marley's first group The Soulettes are included here as well, namely "King Street" and the beautiful "Deh Pon Dem".

Even though the rest of the names won't be recognized by a wide audience there's still alot to enjoy. It starts with Claudette McLean's wonderful "Give Love Another Try" and continues with Della Humphrey's sublime version of Bunny Wailer's "Dreamland", Denise Darlington's cut to the "Love Me Always" riddim entitled "War No Right", Angela Prince's highly sought after "Mr Bassie" cut "No Bother With No Fuss" and "Rougher Yet" cut "You A Fool Boy", and The Tonettes classic I'll Give It To You, which is included in extended form complete with Brentford Road dubwise.

Until now most of the tracks gathered here have only ever been available as extremely hard to find Jamaican 7" singles and 12" discomixes and even if you were lucky enough to find them they'd cost you a small fortune! So ignore at your peril!