Various artists album review
Star Trail One Family Riddim
Nocturne-Walboomers Music
November 11 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Anthony B - Jah Love
  2. Beres Hammond - Hail His Name
  3. Capleton - Things You Do
  4. Luciano - No One Can Hide
  5. Sizzla - Give Jah Praise
  6. Norris Man - Their Scuffling
  7. Iyashanti - Community Ina Battlefield
  8. Mykal Roze - Keep On Moving
  9. Anthony B - Three Cheers
  10. Pinchers - Don't Waste Your Time
  11. Thriller Prince - Genuine Girl
  12. Richie Spice - All Of Yu Loving
  13. Norris Man - Stand Up Firm
  14. Anthony B - Smell Gun Powder
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Launched by Richard "Bello" Bell in Jamaica in 1991, the Star Trail label has played a key role in the "roots & culture" revival of the 90s. A disciple of Prince Emmanuel, Bello brought many youths to the Bobo camp at Bull Bay before recording them in his studio in Kingston. The Star Trail label brought the reggae massive hits like Garnett Silk's anthem"Mama Africa", Capleton's "Dis The Trinity" and, of course, all the major hits of Anthony B, the Bobo chanter whose association with Bello proved very successful. Twelve years after he launched his label producer Richard "Bello" Bell is still a strong force in the reggae arena. And although the amount of his releases has decreased the quality of his production work maintains a high level as can be experienced on this very entertaining roots compilation set. "Star Trail One family Riddim" features refurnished riddim versions of Desi Roots aka Desmond Young's "Weedfields" and Barrington Levy's "Too Experienced". Tracks 1-7 are cuts over the wicked "Weedfields" (here retitled "Callie" riddim), voiced by some of today's best known singers and deejays. Seven strong efforts, with every tune having its own merit, makes it hard to point out standouts. Anyway, our choice musical cuts are Anthony B's "Jah Love", Beres Hammond's wonderful "Hail His Name", Luciano's "No One Can Hide" and the great "Community Ina Battlefield" by much promising roots singer Iyashanti. Mykal Roze's solid "Keep On Moving" kicks off the version excursion of the "Too Experienced" riddim. Again nuff niceness for the avid reggae fan with highlights being Anthony B's herb song "Three Cheers", Richie Spice's "All Of Yu Loving" and "Stand Up Firm" by Norris Man. Anthony B rounds off this album in fine style with "Smell Gun Powder", an awesome piece delivered over another (unnamed) riddim.

Teacher & Mr. T.