Various artists album review
Strictly The Best Volume 23
VP Records / Walboomers Music
30 - 11 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Mr. Vegas - Double Blank
  2. Beenie Man - World Gone Mad
  3. Dancehall's Magnificent 7 - Unda Wata Medley
  4. Zebra - Red
  5. Tanya Stephens - Rigormortis
  6. Capleton - Never Get Down
  7. Kiprich & Cappachino - Leggo Di Bwoy
  8. Morgan Heritage & Friends - New Jerusalem Medley
  9. Tony Rebel - Hypocrites
  10. Buccaneer & Baby Cham - Weh Dem Woulda Do
  11. Ward 21 - Judgement Day
  12. Beenie Man & Anthony Red Roze - Nuh Ruff Like We
  13. Merciless - Let Them Have It
  14. Red Rat - Naa Naa
  15. Sizzla - Jail House Break
  16. Capleton - More Prophet
  17. Mr. Vegas - Di Position
  18. Lady Saw - Go
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5

Vp Records' award winning reggae compilation series "Strictly The Best" has become a highly anticipated annual release whose popularity has increased leaps and bounds year after year. Throughout the years the series has grown to a top-quality level and has become an essential purchase as it keeps one updated with the newest and hottest aspects in the reggae industry.
"Strictly the Best 23" features singles from some of the hottest dancehall acts in the business. This cd features a lot of new and exciting music from established as well as many new and exciting newcomers. Included on this years album are hit singles from "The Doctor" Beenie Man who was nominated this year for a Grammy and recipient of the Tamika & Reggae/Soca award for DJ of the year, performing his hotsingle across Richard Browne's "Gras Cyat" riddim entitled, World Gone Mad and a duet with Anthony Red Roze on Nuh Ruff Like We.
Other prominent artists featured here include Merciless performing his hit , Let Them Have It, Capleton performing his chartbuster , Never Get Down, and Morgan Heritage & Friends performing the excellent rootical New Jerusalem Medley, a tune drawn from their latest album "Morgan Heritage Family & Friends Vol. 2". This year's dancehall sensation Mr. Vegas who brought us the hit chart topping single 'Heads High', is present here with three of his sizzling hits. These hits include, Double Blank, performed over Tony 'CD' Kelly's hot new "Ki Ki" riddim, Di Position performed over the legendary King Jammy's riddim called "Bada Bada" and finally a combination with opera flavored Buccaneer on Weh Dem Woulda Do. Cultural deejay Tony Rebel delivers a noteworthy cut on Donovan's Germain 'Tings and Time ' riddim entitled Hypocrites and today's hottest deejay Sizzla is as good as you would expect with the energetic tune Jail House Break. Dancehall Queen, Marion "Lady Saw" Hall is back representing strong for the ladies with her new single featured on John John's, 'Vagina' riddim entitled Go, whilst the 'Princess of the Dancehall,' Tanya Stephens, doing it only as she can do over the, "Headache" riddim on Rigormortis, a track also found on the VP Records one riddim cd "Headache". Alongside these veteran performers the album also features promising new comers like Kiprich & Cappachino performing their new uptempo single, Leggo Di Bwoy and Jamaica's newest quartet, Ward 21, performing Judgement Day, over "Da Joint" riddim. Furthermore Jamaica's hottest new young DJ, Zebra performs his new single entitled, Red. Featuring production work from some of dancehall's highly acclaimed production wizards like Anthony "C.D." Kelly , Richard "Shams" Browne, Collin "Bulby" York , Louis "Flabba" Malcom, Wall Street Productions, Paul Kastick, Mark Hudson, Denroy Morgan, Morgan Heritage, Donovan Germain, Danny Browne, King Jammys, Ward 21 & Annex, this compilation series lives up to its illustrious label of representative of what's the best in the dancehall today.

Teacher & Mr. T.