Various artists album review
Strictly The Best Volume 26
VP Records / Walboomers Music
10 - 12 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Love So Nice - Junior Kelly
  2. That's The Way It Is - Terry Linen
  3. Say What - Singing Melody
  4. Reunion - Wayne Wonder & Buju Banton
  5. Sometimes - Sanchez
  6. Just Be Good - Half Pint
  7. Nothing At All - Ghost
  8. All My Love - Marcia Griffiths & Da'Ville
  9. Don't Play With My Heart - Beres Hammond
  10. I See It In You - Freddie McGregor
  11. I Try - Girl Friends
  12. Grab Yuh Lass - Louie Culture & Mikey Spice
  13. Lately - Mr. Biggs
  14. Six, Eight, Twelve - Tony Curtis
  15. Strangers In The Night - Glen Washington
  16. All I Have To Give - Christopher
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

VP's longest running compilation series, "The Strictly the Best" series is one of reggae music's best selling compilation series. The award winning reggae compilation series has become a highly anticipated annual release whose popularity has increased leaps and bounds year after year.
This volume features a good selection of Jamaica's best reggae music. The album includes new singles from Ghost performing a cover of Air Supply's single Nothing At All and Sanchez who covers Britney Spear's, Sometimes across the Bob Marley 'Thank You Lord' riddim. Marcia Griffiths and Da'Ville lay down an excellent lovers duet on All My Life. Talented newcomer Junior Kelly delivers his #1 charting single, If Love So Nice. The combination Buju Banton & Wayne Wonder have reunited with a new millennium vibe similar to that on 'Bonafide Love' entitled, Reunion. Half Pint impresses with his lick of the 'Mr. Fix It' riddim entitled Just Be Good, whilst Singing Melody performs Say What across Bobby Digital's 'Grab Yuh Lass' riddim. Terry Linen, the man who brought us last year's smash hit single, 'Your Love Is My Love' is here with his new single called That's the Way It Is. This list is rounded out with solid performances by Beres Hammond on Don't Play With My Heart, Glen Washington on Strangers In the Night, using the 'Stars' riddim and the veteran vocalist Freddie McGregor on I See It In You across the popular 'Down By The River aka What Kind Of World' riddim.
"Strictly the Best 26" features production work from some of dancehall's highly acclaimed production wizards. Producer credits include Anthony Cameron, Patrick Roberts, Bobby "Digital" Dixon, Lloyd Campbell, Hugh "Beres" Hammond, Dean "Cannon" Fraser, G. Douglas, General Lee, Donovan Germaine, Lloyd "John John" James, Carlton Hylton and Louis "Flabba" Malcolm.
For those who prefer the more smoother side of reggae music "Strictly the Best 26" is just what you're looking for.

Teacher & Mr. T.