Strictly The Best Vol. 37
VP Records-Groove Attack
November 23, 2007

Busy Signal - Strictly the Best, Vol. 37 Track list
  1. Whine Up - Kat DeLuna feat. Elephant Man
  2. Pick It Up & Drop It - Sean Paul
  3. Back It Up - Beenie Man
  4. Mamacita - Collie Buddz
  5. Take My Place - Munga
  6. Empire Army - Vybz Kartel
  7. Touch The Road - Mavado
  8. Dem A Sissy - Assassin
  9. Earthquake - Munga
  10. These Are The Days - Busy Signal
  11. Protect Your Neck - Tarrus Riley
  12. We Love The Girls - Assassin
  13. China Wise - Sun a.k.a. Geisha feat. Wyclef Jean, Elephant Man & Tony Matterhorn
  14. Me & My Crew (The Rae) - Lady Saw
  15. Brown Bottle - Mavado
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 5-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 7-
Average -Votes: 3-
Disappointing -Votes: 1-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 17
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Every year, just in time for the festive season, VP Records release their "Strictly The Best" albums, two volumes, to 'compete' with Greensleeves Records' "The Biggest Reggae One Drop Anthems" and "The Biggest Ragga Dancehall Anthems" for the reggae massive's attention and after Greensleeves very strong sets this year, VP Records doesn't disappoint either. The album opens with Dominican raised, in the Bronx, NYC born rising female star Kat DeLuna who teamed up with Elephant Man for the irresistably catchy "Whine Up" for Red One Productions, followed by Sean Paul with the great (but I'm not going to hide I am a big fan of him) "Pick It Up & Drop It" over Christopher 'Longman' Birch' 'Madness'-riddim and the first tune also included by Greensleeves, Beenie Man's masterful "Back It Up", a production by his in-house engineer Mario C (with Daseca's - the Harrisingh brothers together with Craig 'Serani' Marsh - David Harrisingh collaborating on the riddim).

Collie Buddz' "Mamacita", produced by Tony 'CD' Kelly and based loosely on Kevin Lyttle's infectious "Turn Me On" is a fine tune, that is followed by a wonderful Don Corleon hip hop inspired riddim, on which his protégé Munga delivers "Take My Place", his latest JA #1 hit and Vybz Kartel is in true warmode on Stephen 'Di Genius' McGregor's 'Dark Again'-riddim with "Empire Army". Mavado's "Touch The Road" for O'Neil 'Foota Hype' Thomas was also featured on his extremely impressive debut album"Gangsta For Life - The Symphony Of David Brooks" and so was Assassin's "Dem A Sissy" over Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett's 'Silver Screen'-riddim.

That even geniuses don't deliver brilliancy all the time is heard on Don Corleon's only half satisfying (though there's no denying its catchiness) 'Raging Bull'-riddim, with Munga contributing his "Earthquake", followed by Jamaican singing hope, son of Jimmy Riley, Tarrus Riley delivering the great "Protect Yu Neck" containing a sample of the Silvertones' 1967 Treasure Isle tune "Midnight Hour" and Wilson Pickett's soul song "Midnight Hour" recorded for 'Bulby' and 'Fatta''s Fat Eyes label. Assassin gets a second tune on this album with "We Love The Girls" over Stephen 'The Genius' McGregor's 'Tremor', his most dense riddim to date, with lots of percussion, a Spanish acoustic guitar somewhere deep in the mix and some synth-accents still lending it his usual 'cold'-vibe.

Sun a.k.a. Geisha,a four-time platinum music artist and singing sensation in Asia, has signed a production deal with legendary producer and musician, Wyclef Jean to executive produce her upcoming North American debut album. The first single from her album, "China Wine", which was written by Sun and Wyclef Jean features not only Wyclef Jean himself, but also Elephant Man and Tony Matterhorn" in true party style. "Me & My Crew (The Rae)" by Lady Saw over Ward 21's 'Rae'-riddim is one of several very strong tunes over this very minimalistic yet extremely catchy riddim, before Mavado's second tune closes this album, over Stephen 'Di Genius' McGregor's 'Darker Shadow'-riddim he delivers the truly impressive ganja and booze (in this case Hennessy) tune "Brown Bottle" to round off an extremely impressive set, that despite a couple of overlapments with "The Best Ragga Dancehall Anthems 2007" from Greensleeves Records is nevertheless an obligatory purchase!