Strictly The Best Vol. 44
VP Records
December 26, 2011

Strictly the Best, Vol. 44 - Various Artists Track list
  1. Tarrus Riley - Shaka Zulu Pinkney
  2. Queen Africa - Pot Still Haffi Bubble
  3. Etana - People Talk
  4. Gyptian - My Number One
  5. Chris Martin & Alaine - Still In Love
  6. I Wayne - Pure As The Nile
  7. Tessane Chin - Firework
  8. Chino feat. Denyque - Driving Me Insane
  9. Denyque - Summer Love
  10. Tifa - Into The Night
  11. Jamelody - This Time
  12. Beres Hammond - I Am Mising You
  13. Freddie Mcgregor - A House Is Not Home
  14. Tarrus Riley - Never Leave I
  15. Romain Virgo - The System
  16. Richie Spice - Yap Yap
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 9-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 2-

Total votes : 14
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Not only is VP Records' "Strictly The Best" the longest running compilation series, it's also the most successful series of all times. Again reggae's leading record company has unleashed two samplers that wrap up the year, with this disc being dedicated to modern roots and lovers rock, while number 45 in the series focuses on the biggest hits from the dancehall arena.

Throughout the years not every "Strictly The Best" release has been a real winner or at least one that could be called a truly great addition to the collection any reggae fan. Those that weren't often lacked consistency in quality, due to containing quite a few filler. With that in mind we were really curious to find out what this collection would be like. After having given it several spins, we drew the conclusion that ""Strictly The Best Vol. 44" isn't exceptionally good, but it ain't bad either. The strongest parts of this album are at the beginning and at the the end. In between the listener is treated to a few lacklustre tracks such as Tesanne Chin's "Firework", Denyque's "Summer Love", and Tifa's "Into The Night (If I Could Fly". However there are several irresistible tracks featured here as well including the two Tarrus Riley tunes, "Shaka Zulu Pickney" on the "Nyabinghi" riddim and "Never Leave I" on Chimney Records' "Island Vibes" riddim, Queen Ifrica's "Pot Still Haffi Bubble", Beres Hammond's "Missing You" on Juke Boxx's "Sweet Wata" riddim, Freddie McGregor's "A House Is Not A Home", and Romain Virgo's "The System".

Anyone who is still lacking some of 2011's biggest hit tunes is recommended to grab this one.