Strictly The Best Vol. 46
VP Records
November 29, 2012

Strictly the Best, Vol. 46 - Various Artists Track list
Disc 1
  1. Morgan Heritage - The Return
  2. Iba Mair - Sound A Alarm
  3. Busy Signal - Reggae Music Again
  4. Beres Hammond - Dancing Beauty
  5. Tarrus Riley - Lovers Leap
  6. Christopher Martin - If I Were A Carpenter
  7. Gyptian - One More Night
  8. Etana - Play 2 Love (Start Over)
  9. Romain Virgo - Fired Up Inside
  10. Chino - By My Side
  11. Jamelody - Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You
  12. Jah Cure - That Girl
  13. Freddie Mcgregor - Africa
Disc 2
  1. George Nooks - God Is Standing By
  2. Sanchez - Never Dis The Man
  3. Anthony B - Raid The Barn
  4. Vc - By His Deeds
  5. Jah Mason - Princess Gone
  6. Junior Kelly - If Love So Nice
  7. Gyptian - Beautiful Lady
  8. Etana - Warrior Love
  9. Bascom X - Lonely Girl
  10. Busy Signal - One More Night
  11. Terry Linen - Your Love Is My Love
  12. Mr. Vegas - Mus Come A Road
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 9-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 5-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 16
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
'Strictly the Best' is the longest running compilation series presenting the most in-demand sounds of Jamaica. This annual compilation series presents the biggest songs of the season, winning in the clubs and on Caribbean radio. The formula has netted success since 1993 when the series was launched. At that time Jet Star's 'Reggae Hits' was the most important compilation series in the reggae business. Volume 46 includes a second disc with some nice 'back in the day' hits that will please any reggae fan.

This volume focuses on the softer side of reggae, with original tunes, versions of classic riddims and some pop covers. If I Were A Carpenter used to be a tremendous hit for the Motown group The Four Tops, but it was written by singer-songwriter Tim Hardin. Christopher Martin won Digicel Rising Stars in 2005 (the Jamaican version of "American Idol") and is best known for the songs "Take My Wings", "Giving It" and "I'll Be Your Driver". Here he does a sweet version of that all-time classic. The Morgan Heritage family strikes back with their massive hit The Return, their first single in five years, produced by Shane Brown. Busy Signal keeps drifting away more and more from his dancehall roots, listen to Reggae Music Again and you know what we mean! Wonderful tune produced by ace producer Donovan Germain.

Tarrus Riley is in good shape licking the classic Slim Smith tune 'Let Me Go Girl', an original Bunny Lee production. Sweet voiced Gyptian gives us On More Night, not the Busy Signal monster hit, which is featured on disc 2. Romain Virgo is one of reggae's hottest singers. Here he relicks the riddim of Junior Byles' classic 'Beat Down Babylon' in fine style, courtesy of Shane Brown, one of the leading producers on the Island. Former King Jammy protege Bobby Digital teams up with singer Jamelody and the result is the ultra sweet Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You. Last tune of disc one is a wonderful Freddie McGregor tune. In the past he has recorded with big success for the UK based Stingray label and now he returns to the label with a do-over of The Mighty Diamonds' mid seventies hit Africa.

As mentioned before disc 2 offers some nice vintage tunes, some of them even rather recent hits, such as Busy Signal's One More Night and Mr. Vegas'Mus Come A Road. Standout selections are Terry Linen's Your Love Is My Love and Sanchez with Never Dis The Man.

Check it out!