Strictly The Best Vol. 47
VP Records
November 29, 2012

Strictly the Best, Vol. 47 - Various Artists Track list
Disc 1
  1. Popcaan - Summer Wave (When We Party)
  2. I Octane - We Love Di Vibes
  3. Mr. Vegas - Bruk It Down
  4. Rdx - Jump
  5. Konshens - Stop Sign
  6. Vybz Kartel - Get Gal Easy
  7. Danielle 'Di' Ft. Cherine - Rebel
  8. Sean Paul Ft. Kelly Rowland - How Deep Is Your Love
  9. Tommy Lee Sparta - Some Bwoy
  10. Aidonia - La La Land
  11. Tommy Lee Sparta - Psycho
  12. Bounty Killer - No Long Talking
  13. Tommy Lee Sparta - Uncle Demon
Disc 2
  1. Ini Kamoze - Hot Stepper
  2. Nardo Ranks - Them A Bleach
  3. Gregory Peck - Poco Man Jam
  4. Red Fox & Naturalee - Down In Jamaica
  5. Beenie Man - Blackboard
  6. Tony Curtis - Faith
  7. Tanya Stephens - Gogle
  8. Captain Barkey - Go Go Wine
  9. Fabby Dolly - Peanut Punch
  10. Ding Dong - Badman Forward
  11. Bounty Killer - Sufferah
  12. Capleton - Badmind
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 7-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 2-

Total votes : 13
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
'Strictly the Best' is the longest running compilation series presenting the most in-demand sounds of Jamaica. This annual compilation series presents the biggest songs of the season, winning in the clubs and on Caribbean radio. The formula has netted success since 1993 when the series was launched. Volume 47 includes a second disc with a bunch of dancehall killers from 'back in the days'.

This volume brings us some of this year's hottest tunes. First comes the immensely popular Popcaan, who proclaimed himself "Raving King", with his smasher Summer Wave (When We Party) out of the TJ Records camp. This tune was the follow up to his other killer tune 'Party Shot'. I-Octane follows with we We Love Di Vibes, a fresh summer tune that has been heavily in rotation for a number of weeks during last summer. Mr. Vegas is present with the self produced tune Bruk It Down and adds some tropical uptempo flavour to this compilation. The popular duo RDX scores with their 6th energetic hit tune Jump. The video has acquired over 1 million views on YouTube!

Jamacia's newest and hottest dancehall hitmaker Tommy Lee Sparta is featured here with no less than three tunes. From UIM Records comes the chart topper Psycho and Some Bwoy, pon the 'So Bad' riddim, comes from the Young Vibez Productions camp. One of his most recent efforts is Uncle Demon, do check out the video clip 'cause it's inspired by Michael Jackson's video classic Thriller. Stop Sign is Konshens' dancehall chart topper from recent times while superstar Sean Paul brings us a danceable, winding tune called How Deep Is Your Love feat. Kelly Rowland also featured on his album 'Tomahawk Technique'.

Disc 2 takes us back to the days of yesteryears. The disc features a cut -- Go Go Wine -- by the recently deceased Captain Barkey and the sublime Nardo Ranks tune Them A Bleach across the 'Santa Barbara aka Bam Bam' riddim. Personal favourite pieces are Sufferah, Bounty Killer's lick pon the 'Diwali' riddim and Beenie Man's Blackboard.

Fresh, danceable and hot!