Riddim Driven ~ Stop The Fighting
VP Records - Groove Attack
May 2, 2007

Assassin & Richie Stephens - Riddim Driven: Stop the Fighting Track list
  1. Guns Dogs & Pusses - Tony Rebel
  2. Below The Waist - Queen Ifrica
  3. Give It All You've Got - Beres Hammond
  4. I'm Gonna Do My Best - Beres Hammond Buju Banton
  5. It Nuh Nuff - Jack Radics
  6. Stop The Fighting - Richie Stephens & Assassin
  7. It's Been A Long Time - Warrior King
  8. Never Meet A Woman Like You - Maxi Priest
  9. Strangers To The World - Anthony Cruz
  10. All I Want To See - Torch
  11. It's A Beauty - Geoffrey Star
  12. Put Love First - Sweet C
  13. Good Girls - Delly Ranx
  14. Stop The Fighting (Version)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 12-
Very Good -Votes: 5-
Good -Votes: 5-
Average -Votes: 2-
Disappointing -Votes: -
A Waste Of Time -Votes: -

Total votes : 24
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
After one producer who ruled a complete era in the dancehall, Augustus 'Gussie' Clarke, returned early this year to the front with the brilliant 'Consuming Fire'-riddim that was released in VP Records' Riddim Driven series and now the producer who took over as reigning an era in the dancehalls Donovan Germain returns for his apparently still active Penthouse Productions with a relick of Dennis Brown's classic 'Stop The Fighting' a.k.a. "Stop The Fussing And Fighting" from 1982.

Kicking off this one riddim album is one of the artists who made his initial impact on the dancehall scene over Penthouse riddim, Tony Rebel, with "Guns Dogs & Pusses" followed by Derrick Morgan's daughter Queen Ifrica with her well deejayed "Below The Waist" about her preferred way to make up after fighting with her lover and Beres Hammond's smooth solo contribution "Give It All You've Got".

Donovan Germain was of course very much responsible for reviving Beres' career and was the main force behind starting Buju Banton's career and these two (once more) join forces for the powerful answer version to Beres' solo tune "I'm Gonna Do My Best". However it already creeps up on you hear, that despite the great vocal efforts, the arrangement of the riddim makes this production not as sparkling as we are used to coming from Donovan Germain's Penthouse Records. It's still above par, but as a whole even great songs do not take you by storm, probably the reason this selection was not played as much by soundsystems in the dancehall as you'd expect from a Penthouse relick of a classic Dennis Brown riddim. That being said, the alteration of the arrangement for Jack Radics' "It Nuh Nuff" with its horn riffs indeed gives the riddim much more weight and the combination take on Dennis Emanuel Brown's original "Stop The Fighting" by Richie Stephens in combination with Assassin is the second big combination on the riddim.

Warrior King every once in a while delivers a great tune, but in my opinion is a bit overrated and his "It's Been A Long Time" is not gonna win me over to think otherwise. The next two artists however I think are underrated, UK lovers rock icon and mainstream pop star Maxi Priest is one of the most gifted singers in the business and his "Never Meet A Woman Like You" is a true gem and equally is Jamaican crooner Anthony Cruz, whose conscious tune "Strangers To The World" is as strong. Two more sweet voiced upcoming singers deliver fine tunes as well, Torch with his "All I Want To See" and talented Geoffrey Star singing praises of the Almighty in "It's A Beauty" before female DJ Sweet C, Donovan Germain's protégé who recorded almost exclusively for him, until impressing on Steely & Clevie's 'Twice Again'-riddim, shows she is a fine singer as well with "Put Love First". DJ now better known as producer Delly Ranx delivers the nice "Good Girls" as last vocal tune on a set that luckily also includes the clean "Stop The Fighting Version" incorporating the horn riffs that should have been used on all selections and not just some for a better result. It's still a fine album with a relick of a great riddim and some great vocals on top of it, but it could have been much more entertaining than this.