Storm Riddim
RC-One Records
December 14, 2007 / original release (LP) January 15, 1999

Track list
  1. Coast To Coast - Merciless
  2. Steve Urkle - Powerman
  3. Storm - Beenie Man & A.R.P.
  4. Bedroom Storm - Ricky General
  5. The Bomb - Daddy U / Allazaye
  6. Girls Agenda - Red Fox
  7. Jennifer Gotti - Future Troubles
  8. No New Friend - Serial Kid & Black Rat
  9. One Away Thing - Dugsy Ranks, Beekie Bailey, Daddy Vic & Mega Banton
  10. Disrespect - Delly Ranks
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Although this 'Storm'-riddim (not based on the Gregory Isaacs riddim / tune) was released 10 years ago, this is to my knowledge the first time it appears as riddim album, it's the RC-One riddim of the same name backing the Beenie Man & A.R.P. hit with the same title that is featured here, build by Sly Dunbar and Stephen 'Lenky' Marsden. And just when veteran DJ Merciless seems to make a comeback with "Gal Hot" over Dream Entertainment's 'XV'-riddim, we are reminded of how merciless (pun intended) he sounded 10 years ago on "Coast To Coast", followed by Powerman's assurance badman no flex like - the archetypical nerd from TV series Family Matters - "Steve Urkle" and the hit giving this riddim it's name "Storm (On And On)" by Beenie Man and A.R.P. in its original line-up with both DaVille and Mitch still on board to sing the beautiful vocals based on "Got 'Til It's Gone", Janet Jackson 1997 single taken from her "Velvet Rope" album.

Ricky General's impressive "Bedroom Storm" is up next, before Daddy U and Allazaye team up for the very catchy combination "The Bomb" and Red Fox' very entertaining "Girls Agenda". Future Troubles a.k.a. Future Fambo was still at the start of his career when he recorded the funny "Jennifer Gotti" and so were both Serial Kid & Black Rat who were on the brink of their big breakthrough when they recorded "No New Friend" together (using the melody of Madonna's "La Isla Bonita"), but eventyally they wouldn't last longer than 3 years in dancehall's limelight. Mega Banton, now recording as Megah Di Meglahdon, is the only one of the four artists (the others being Dugsy Ranks, Beekie Bailey and Daddy Vic) teaming up for "One Away Thing" who is still (even if limited) appearing on current dancehall riddims and Delly Ranks - as Delly Ranx spelled his name back in the days, when he was only known for his deejaying and not for his productions - closes this very nice one-riddim album with the great "Disrespect". It ain't new, but it's so good that it still deserves to be bought as a 10 year old riddim that ruled the dances back then.