Various artists album review
Street Dealers Vol. 1
Big Man Productions
08 - 06 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Better Late Than Never & Ni Ni - You Say You Want Me
  2. Raging Terror - One Life
  3. Sirus - Money Haffi Mek
  4. Sheba - Can't Manage
  5. Power Ranger - The More Dem Get It
  6. Super Flex - The Link
  7. Vigilante - Gallist
  8. Ras Negus - Hunt Me Down
  9. Pepper Don - Greedy
  10. Thriller Jenna - Bend Bam Boo
  11. Status Crew - Status Crew
  12. Errol Bellot - Friends
  13. Vigilante - Good Girl
  14. Sirus - Ghetto Youth
  15. Mikey - The Bad Up Riddim
  16. Mikey - Greedy Riddim
  17. Mikey - The Bionic Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 2/3

In contrary to many contemporary producers, North London-based musician/producer Mykey Samuels of "Bigman Productions" mainly focuses on recording largely unknown local talent as can be witnessed on a solid three riddim set entitled "Street Dealers Vol. 1". With the exception of Thriller Jenna, Super Flex, Status Crew and former Jah Tubby singer Errol Bellot - all of whom are more or less well known to followers of the UK reggae dancehall scene - the artists featured here don't ring a bell. It's thanks to Mikey Samuel's interest and investment in promoting unknown artists that names such as Better Late Than Never & Ni Ni, Raging Terror, Sirus, Power Ranger, Vigilante, Ras Negus and Pepper Don appear on the line-up of a compilation album for the very first time, thus making their efforts accessible for a wider audience. Pretty good dancehall riddims are featured here with the "Bad Up" riddim being the most appealing, although the "Greedy" is also well worth hearing. The first eight tracks are for the "Bad Up" riddim with Better Late Than Never & Ni Ni's "You Say You Want Me", Sirus' "Money Haffi Mek", Super Flex's "The Link" and Ras Negus' "Hunt Me Down" being solid efforts. Next comes the "Greedy" riddim with three above avarage cuts delivered by Pepper Don, Thriller Jenna and the Status Crew. Errol Bellot's "Friends" is a great tune across the poppy, with sound effects layered, "Bionic" riddim, which has also two nice pieces by Vigilante and Sirus. Recordings for this compilation set took place at the renown Ruff Cutt studio in Willesden.

Teacher & Mr. T.