House Of Riddim Presents Street Riddim Sampler
House Of Riddim Records
November 30, 2007

Track list
  1. Real Herbalist - Natty King
  2. Delilah - Edge Michael
  3. Devine Culture - Rebellion The Recaller
  4. Liar - Crystal Axe
  5. Ready Now - Utan Green
  6. Angel Of Mine - Elijah Prophet
  7. Un Cuadro - El Condorsito
  8. Same Old Love - Mark Wonder
  9. Mama - Ras McBean
  10. Only Jah - Fitta Warri
  11. Guiding Star - Zoro
  12. I Know A Place - Baron Black
  13. Zahnstocher - Dodo
  14. Joyful Sound - Yah Meek
  15. Street Riddim Version - House Of Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Sam Gilly & his House Of Riddim made some serious serious waves in the summer of 2004 with their excellent "Sam Gilly's House Of Riddim Presents" compilation and it's follow-up to that excellent set of tunes featuring a variety of vocalists at the end of 2005 "House Of Riddim ~ Chapter II" as well as various collaborations including several collaborations with fellow countrymen Bassrunner Productions and also laying Das Vibes Productions' 'Living Man'-riddim. The House Of Riddim returns as backing and production outfit for their latest various artists album, this time their first one riddim album "Street Riddim", presenting tunes over a wicked one-drop.

This third album by the outfit from St. Pölten in Austria opens with Natty King's great ganja tune "Real Herbalist", followed by Edge Michael, born as Oral Mark Durloo and son of Melzeta McIntosh - the younger sister of legendary reggae superstar Peter Tosh -, with the beautiful lovers tune "Delilah" and Rebellion The Recaller, the German Gambian, who impresses once more with "Devine Culture" about the hiding of the truth for the ghetto youth about the culture of Africa. Crystal Axe, the Jamaican songstress who also recorded the strong "Got To Be Brave" for Germaican Records over 'Doctor's Darling', contributes the very strong "Liar", before Utan Green with the conscious call to arms "Ready Now" and Elijah Prophet with his great voice addressing his woman with the sweet "Angel Of Mine".

Bassrunner's MC El Condorsíto delivers his fine melodic Spanish "Un Cuadro" and then the in my opinion still underrated Mark Wonder sings his wonderful "Same Old Love", before Guyanese singjay Ras McBean who often records for France's Irie Ites label, has been moving more and more towards straight singing in 2007 and does so here again very successfully with "Mama" and Fitta Warri who first rose to fame in Europe as MC and recording artist for Zion Train now resides in Germany and though not profilic impresses with his releases for several German and Austrian labels, with this "Only Jah" being no exception. South African Zoro has been based for a couple of years already in Sweden where he recorded his debut afro reggae inspired album "Gugs News" and here he sings the beautiful conscious "Guiding Star" with a great dubby break in the middle of the track.

Baron Black, born in Martinique, member of France's Big Famili, delivers his part English / part French description of Zion "I Know A Place" very melodically, before Dominik 'Dodo' Judd from Switzerland uses his almost unparalleled for difficulty to understand Schwytzerdütsch native tongue for the very fine "Zahnstocher" and Yah Meek's almost restraint delivered "Joyful Song" of praise for the most high is the last vocal across this beautiful slightly melancholic one-drop by House of Riddim, that is fortunately also included in its clean "Street Riddim Version", making clear that House of Riddim truly is one of the best bands and production outfits in Europe right now, especially when it comes to roots.