Rupie Edwards Presents Success Archives: From Kingston Jamaica To London UK
Success Records
3 CD Box Set
October 6, 2009

Track list
Disc 1
  1. Rupie Edwards - Ire Feeling
  2. Johnny Clarke - Everyday Wondering
  3. Errol Dunkley - Darling Ooh
  4. Lloyd & Devon - Love Is The Foundation
  5. Gregory Isaacs - Too Late
  6. Dobby Dobson - Don't Make Me Over
  7. The Heptones - You've Lost That Loving Feeling
  8. Rupie Edwards - My Little Red Top
  9. Johnny Clarke - You Bring Me Joy
  10. Dobby Dobson - What Love Has Joined Together
  11. Rupie Edwards - Dance With Me
  12. Errol Dunkley - Down Below
  13. Hughroy Henry - Baby
  14. Gregory Isaacs - Black & White
  15. Rupie Edwards - Sometimes
  16. Ossie Scott & Dobby Dobson - That Wonderful Sound
Disc 2
  1. The Heptones & Joe White - Give Me The Right
  2. Rupie Edwards, Bob Andy & Tyrone Evans - Love Is A Wonderful Thing
  3. Gregory Isaacs & Concords - Don't Let Me Suffer
  4. Dobby Dobson - Crazy
  5. John Holt - Fat Girl, Sexy Girl
  6. Dobby Dobson - Endlessly
  7. Mighty Diamonds - Girl You Are Wrong
  8. Errol Dunkley - Three In One
  9. African Brothers - Mystery Of Nature
  10. Social Eagles - One Sunday Morning
  11. The Ethiopians - I'm Gonna Buy You A Ring
  12. Johnny Clarke - Julie On My Mind
  13. The Tellers - Green Guava Jelly
  14. John Holt - Man And Woman
  15. Rupie Edwards - Girl I Really Really Love You
  16. Rupie Edwards All Stars feat. Carl 'Cannonball' - I Sey Go Dey
Disc 3
  1. Johnny Clarke - The End
  2. Gregory Isaacs - Far Beyond The Valley
  3. The Ethiopians - Solid As A Rock
  4. The Meditators - Mother Cubba
  5. The Itals - Everytime
  6. Ken Parker - Talk About Love
  7. Ken Parker - I Wanna Be Loved
  8. Rupie Edwards - I'm Gonna Live Some Life
  9. Rupie Edwards - A Little Bit Of Time
  10. Gregory Isaacs - Lonely Man
  11. Joe Higgs - Burning Fire
  12. Errol Dunkley - If You Say So
  13. Errol Carter - Ramgoat Malish Water
  14. Rupie Edwards - Long Lost Love
  15. Pat Francis - Know Yourself Mankind
  16. The Ethiopians - Big Splish Splash
  17. The Tellers - No Work No Play
  18. Rupie Edwards - Jamaica Serenade
  19. Shorty The President - President Mash Up The Resident
  20. Jah Woosh - The Wanderer
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 12-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 15
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Although singer/producer Rupie Edwards had enough noteworthy material to be named alongside the likes of all-time great like Lee "Scratch" Perry, Joe Gibbs, Bunny 'Striker' Lee or Winston "Niney" Holness, he faded into oblivion after just a brief period of success in the first half of the 1970s. Something must have gone awry after he scored a monster hit in the UK with "Ire Feeling" in 1974 and his emigration to London in that same year, because he was never able to repeat that success, or the musical quality of earlier productions.

Rupie Edwards was born on 4th July 1945 in Goshen, in the parish of St. Ann's, Jamaica. His foray into the music business began when he was 14 or 15 where he used to hang out with other future Jamaican stars (who had yet to make their mark on the local scene) including John Holt and Pat Kelly. In 1962 his career as a singer took off when he recorded his debut single "Guilty Convict" b/w "Just Because" for L.S. Little Wonder Smith, which was released on the Blue Beat label in the UK. He made two more records for President Bell's sound system and then with future Techniques member Junior Menz a single entitled "Mother's Choice" b/w "Amen". By the mid-60s he put together a singing group called The Virtues, which included singers such as Junior Menz, Lloyd Robinson, Basil Gabbidon (famous during the Ska days), guitarist/singer Eric Frater, Dobby Dobson and Rupie Edwards himself.

From mid 1968, where Rocksteady was just turning into (early) Reggae, he also began to work as a producer in earnest. His earliest production works included The Mediators' "Look Who A Bust Style", The Concords' "I Need Your Loving" as well as many of the tracks featured on this album. Most of these songs were not only hits, but also ground breaking for the time they were recorded. He worked extensively with two main studio engineers, namely Syd Bucknor and producer/engineer Linford 'Andy Capp' Anderson. The latter's engineering and mixing styles are distinctive as they often feature extra delay and effects that were 3 to 4 years ahead of their time. Rupie Edwards' early riddims were bubbly and upbeat, with a magical interplay of drum, bass, chopping rhythm guitar and rasp, backed up by organ and that picky-plucky sound of the dead string lead guitar. The music is clean and fresh even to this day and, like many other producers of the time, has a familiar feel yet a sound of its own. Many of the songs gathered on this album don't have solos, just a space for the riddim to 'breathe'. After Rupie Edwards had met Harry Palmer (of Pama Records) in Jamaica, his productions were released in the UK on Pama's dedicated label, Success.

And now there's this delightful 3cd box set, showcasing some of Jamaica's leading talent of the era that was featured on Rupie Edwards' Success imprint. The three discs contain 52 classic tunes -- including a notable amount of true gems -- that were recorded from 1969 up to 1974. Disc one kicks off with Rupie Edwards' dubonic hit version "Ire Feeling" with its nagging "Skenga Skenga" vocal refrain, followed by one of Johnny Clarke's first hits, "Everyday Wondering", over the same riddim. Next drops Errol Dunkley's delicious "Darling Ooh", Lloyd & Devon's wonderful "Love Is The Foundation Of The World" and one of Gregory Isaacs' earliest solo cuts, "Too Late". What a marvelous start... and it's just the beginning!! To say something about each and every track of this box set is an unfeasible task, so we restrict ourselves to pointing out that the listener is treated to gems like Dobby Dobson's "Endlessly", The Heptones' version of the Righteous Brothers' hit "You've Lost That Loving Feeling", The African Brothers' "Mystery Of Nature", The Ethiopians' "Buy You A Ring", and Joe Higgs' "Burning Fire" to name only five. Also of interest are the inclusion of debut singles from The Mighty Diamonds ("Girl You Are Too Young") and Gregory Isaacs ("Don't Let Me Suffer") as a member of The Concords. Furthermore there's "Mother Cubba" by The Meditators, a vocal group that had Pat Francis (aka Jah Lloyd) and Fitzroy "Bunny" Simpson (later of The Mighty Diamonds) amongst their members.

"Rupie Edwards Presents Success Archives: From Kingston Jamaica To London UK" gets a big thumbs up as it not only treats the avid vintage collector to a truly great collection of tunes, but also highlights the importance of Rupie Edwards' contribution to the history of Reggae music.