Various artists album review
The Buzz!
Black Shadow Records-Walboomers Music
29 - 12 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Troyton & Daddy Reds - Intro
  2. Capleton - I Love To See
  3. Sizzla - Pump Up
  4. Beenie Man - Toy Friend
  5. Sean Paul - Give Me The Light
  6. Mr. Vegas - A Nuh Di Same
  7. Cobra - Press Trigger
  8. Elephant Man - Haters Wanna War
  9. Mr. Easy - Don't Test Me
  10. Singer J - Buss Your Gun
  11. Beenie Man - Gal Dem We Love
  12. Looga Man - Turn It On
  13. Rekha - Too Close
  14. Jah Thunder - Name
  15. The Buzz
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Black Shadow's latest yardcore bashment riddim, "The Buzz", gets the compilation treatment. Featured on this "one riddim" set are thirteen straight vocal versions for this popular dancehall riddim plus the version and an almost twenty-one minutes lasting nice megamix, the latter being the album opener. The Troyton produced "The Buzz" incorporates a wicked repetitive ukelele-like pick atop a pounding, insistent backdrop, that will have you flailing around the dancefloor in next to no time.
When a riddim is getting hot everyone wants to have a 'piece of the pie' and thus it's no wonder that "The Buzz" has been voiced by the cream of the current dancehall crop alongside such up-and-coming artists like Singer J, Looga Man, Jah Thunder and female singer Rekha. Truly vibrant dancehall pieces are Beenie Man's "Toy Friend", Sean Paul's awesome "Give Me The Light", Mr. Vegas' "A Nuh Di Same" and Elephant Man's "Haters Wanna War". On the other hand the fireman Capleton and especially Sizzla with his extremely slack "Pump Up" don't live up to expectations. Regarding the lesser known artists one is treated to satisfying efforts from fine singer Mr. Easy - "Don't Test Me" - and singjay Jah Thunder, who tells his fellow artists to watch their "Name". The version of "The Buzz" completes the set which surely will find its way to avid dancehall devotees.

Teacher & Mr. T.