Reggae ~ The Definitive Sound
Definitive Music
September 12, 2006

Track list
  1. Freddie McGregor - Love And Affection
  2. Anthony B - Watch Over My Soul
  3. Natural Black - I Don't Want To See You Cry
  4. Marcia Griffiths - Bus Dem Shot
  5. Luciano - De Ole Ah Wee
  6. Morgan Heritage - Armagideon Calls
  7. Prince Malachi - Dancing School
  8. Gregory Isaacs - War A Gwan
  9. Bushman - King Selassie I
  10. L.M.S. - That's Not Right
  11. Buju Banton - Why
  12. Mykal Rose - Babylon City
  13. Glen Washington - Open Your Eyes
  14. CD Bailey - Head's Rolling
  15. Frankie Paul - Watch Dem
  16. Lukie D - Be Strong
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 2
At first sight a rather pretentious title for a various artists sampler, but then it turns out to be a reference to the label (Definitive Music) that has put out its first release. No information or whatsoever in the sleevenotes about this new reggae label, but there seems to be a close connection to the powerhouse UK production team of Stingray Records, the reggae studio and label that has emerged as one of the best production camps in the UK since it was founded in 1994 by the McLeod brothers. All sixteen tunes gathered on this compilation set are produced by C. And R. McLeod for Stingray Records and were recorded between 2001 and 2004. Not exactly the recordings any avid reggae fan who wants to keep up with the most recent hits and trends will be looking for, but probably interesting enough for those who weren't able to purchase tunes like for example Anthony B's solid "Watch Over My Soul" or Buju Banton's wicked "Why", both on the "Meditation" riddim. These, along with Freddie McGregor's "Love And Affection", Natural Black's "I Don't Want To See You Cry", Morgan Heritage's "Armagideon Calls", and Gregory Isaacs' "War A Gwan", are the best tracks from this decent albeit not real exciting collection of tunes.