Various artists album review
The World Shall See
VP Records-Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Capleton - Stand Tall
  2. Luciano - Free Up The Herbalist
  3. Prince Malachi - Love Jah
  4. Sizzla - The World Shall See
  5. Turbulence - Think Of Peace
  6. L.M.S. - Follow Jah
  7. Anthony Mills - The Story Of My Life
  8. Morgan Heritage - Bubble In The Struggle
  9. Sizzla - Why Boast
  10. Prince Malachi - Life Cycle
  11. Luciano & Capleton - Jah Kingdom
  12. Beres Hammond - Hold On
  13. Leroy Sibbles - Fight
  14. Jah Cure - Trod In The Valley
  15. Cocoa Tea - Mr. Neck Tie Man
  16. Capleton & Sizzla - The Vibes
  17. Turbulence & Fucious - One Gun
  18. Mr. Biggs - Lately
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Phillip "Fattis" Burrell, the infamous producer who established himself as an ace producer in the second half of the nineties, regarding the fact that he brought acts like Sizzla, Luciano and Prince Malachi (to name but a few) to the forefront of modern roots reggae delivers a brand new compilation album entitled "The World Shall See". This set mainly gathers tunes from the usual suspects which were previously released on 7" singles and/or were included on Xterminator albums. Featured are such great, 'older' tunes like Capleton's "Stand Tall", Morgan Heritage's "Bubble In The Struggle", Cocoa Tea's Mr. Neck Tie Man", Jah Cure's "Trod In The Valley" and Luciano & Capleton's majestic combination tune "Jah Kingdom" next to more recent scorchers like Sizzla's "The World Shall See", Mr. Biggs' "Lately" and Prince Malachi's "Life Cycle".
Capleton's moving piece "Stand Tall" is delivered over Xterminator's recut of the old Studio One Larry Marshall chestnut "Mean girl" built off a sample of the 1976 Channel One version of The Mighty Diamonds' classic "I Need A Roof". Also Cocoa Tea utilizes the very same riddim. Singing sweeter than ever, he demands the "Mr. Neck Tie Man" of the title to "move before I tell you 'bout your pants and shirt bwoy !" With his debut 45 "Love Jah" Prince Malachi delivers a superb conscious tune across the "Stealing/Ulterior Motive" riddim, in which he expresses his love to the most High. However, his second contribution, "Life Cycle", is the best, as it is truly one of the standout tracks of this set. Morgan Heritage's 1998 debut with Xterminator, "Bubble In The Struggle", is a wicked song of encouragement to all the ghetto youths. Besides the already indicated tunes one also will find such noteworthy tracks like Luciano's "Free Up The Herbalist", L.M.S.' Follow Jah" and, last but not least, Leroy Sibbles' excellent "Fight". Packed with mainly solid to excellent conscious tunes and very few fillers from Jamaica's premier "roots & culture" stable, "The World Shall See" is definitely another testimony of the fine and well respected production skills of Phillip 'Fatis' Burrell.

Teacher & Mr. T.