Ride The Rhythm ~ Those Guys
Cou$ins Records / Black Arrow
September 30, 2008

Track list
  1. Bring Back The Love - Lutan Fyah
  2. When You Love Someone - Gyptian
  3. What I Deserve - Chezidek
  4. In New York - John Mouse
  5. Difference In My Life - Ginjah
  6. Give Thanks & Praise - Luciano
  7. What A Feeling - Anthony Q
  8. True Love - Lukie D
  9. Look Out - Danny Red
  10. You Are My Queen - Frankie Paul
  11. Don't Touch The Crack - Richie Davis
  12. Young Girl - Vivian Jones
  13. There Comes A Time - Leroy Mafia
  14. Token Of Love - Norris Man
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 7-
Very Good -Votes: 6-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 15
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Cou$ins Records producer Donville Davis - who had already proven he's capable of relicking classic riddims in fine style - also showed a nose for picking the right riddims to license on the three various artists compilations, as "Strictly One Drop Vol. 1"'s inclusion of CJ James 'Without Love'-riddim and of course Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett's 'Heavenly' proved and then on 'Mo-Bay' & 'Desperate Lover' two riddims from Byron Murray's In The Streetz label were featured, strange as it may seem with In The Streetz not only being an outlet for Byron Murray's own productions, but through their Rhythm Streetz Series Byron Murray (and Mr. Vegas) also released on CD and LP some extremely successful riddims by other extremely hot producers.

Cou$ins Records kicked off a new series of one riddim instead of two riddim albums - like the recent "Rhythm 2 Rhythm Vol. 9 ~ Fort Augustus / Craven Puppy" - called Ride The Riddim with "Hail The I" featuring the first riddim on the Riddim Kings label produced by Stefan & Sean Shelton a.k.a the Riddim Kings and then one month later they returned with a string of one drop releases licensed from Kemar 'DJ Flava' McGregor's Flava Music and No Doubt Records. Kemar McGregor, who of course cemented his name as one riddim producer with the 'Triumphant'-riddim backing Gyptian's "Mama" and then chipped in with the nice 'Road Block'-riddim and the very nice various combination album aptly titled "Combination" provided Cou$ins with the three excellent one-riddim albums "Trumpet", "Flute" and "Key Riddim" with three volumes in the Ride The Riddim series in just 8 days.

And now Donville Davis presents in his Ride The Riddim series, following two earlier releases of riddims produced by Chris(topher) Hart, the one drop 'Genesis' and the dancehall-tinged 'Summerise'-riddim, a brilliant (though unsurprising) relick of a classic riddim. As this latest volume in the Ride The Riddim series features the riddim that became truly hot again when Bitty McLean voiced his "Baby Tonight" for Peckings over it, the Sensations' 1968 Treasure Isle riddim 'Those Guys' (a.k.a. as the riddim of John Holt's "I'll Be Lonely"). And the 'Those Guys'-riddim truly inspired all the artists voicing it, as each tune turns out to be a killer.

On the first track Lutan Fyah delivers the beautiful "Bring Back The Love" followed by Gyptian's smooth "When You Love Someone" and Chezidek's wonderful combative "What I Deserve". Early dancehall veteran John Mouse returns to recording with "In New York", before Ginjahm who has over the last 12 months become a household name on roots and lovers selections, proves he is finally completely fulfilling the high expectations that rose during his early Harmony House days with the lovers tune "Difference In My Life". Luciano convinces with his conscious take on the riddim "Give Thanks & Praise" (that also appeared on the early 2007 Cou$ins compilation "From Bond Street To Greenwich Farm").

"What A Feeling" by Anthony Q is a great lovers tune, followed by the even stronger love song "True Love" by Lukie D and UK (digi-)roots veteran Danny Red with the very strong "Look Out" that inexplicably is not included on his upcoming Cou$ins album "Past And Present". Frankie Paul's "You Are My Queen" is another excellent effort by this dancehall veteran who seems to relish recording for UK producers as his tunes in the past year (almost exclusively turning up on Cou$ins albums) prove. Richie Davis urge to "Don't Touch The Crack", Vivian Jones' impressive "Young Girl" and - one of Donville Davis' real-life cousins Mafia & Fluxy - Leroy Mafia with the wonderful "There Comes A Time" (that was titled "Don't Be Ungrateful") all appeared on the aforementioned "From Bond Street To Greenwich Town.

The last tune on this excellent "Those Guys" Ride The Riddim album, on which unfortunately the clean riddim version lacks, is Norris Man great "Token Of Love", closing a truly wonderful album, despite Donville Davis' tendency to not only rehash tunes by including a tune on different compilations before including the same tune on the artist album, but then additionally renaming that same tune, which takes away some of the good vibes that Cou$ins releases should give you judged solely by their musical content. Despite that criticism, you should still definitely buy this album if you're into rocksteady, great singers and lovers rock.