Various artists album review
CD / 2LP
14 - 12 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Elephant Man - Ghetto Girls
  2. Beenie Man - Don't Come Around
  3. Sizzla - Doin' It Right
  4. Assassin - Celebrate
  5. T.O.K. - Where I'm From
  6. Spragga Benz - The Ras
  7. Lexxus - Gal Out Road
  8. Red Rat - Wine Your Waist
  9. Frisco Kid - Girls Night
  10. Bling Dawg - With Mi Gal
  11. Mr. Vegas - Gi Dem The Wine
  12. Danny English & Egg Nog - Phone Number
  13. Kiprich - Pick A Side
  14. Alozade - Wanna Be
  15. Kirk Davis - Shake It
  16. Zumjay - All Ma Ladies
  17. Lukie D - Woman With Shape
  18. Hawkeye - Dreams & Hopes
  19. Shaddu - Fi Real
  20. Kiprich - Quality Time
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Number 32 in "Greensleeves Rhythm Album" series is dedicated to the fresh "Threat" riddim, which was produced by Troy Mclean and Garfield Hamilton for their First Name Productions. Troy & Garfield are the creators of the popular "Herbalist" and "Energy" riddims, both having ruled the dancehalls in the summer of 2001. Furthermore they are Jamaica's hottest radio dj's on RJR Radio 2 with the baddest drivetime show that's kickin' serious butt in Jamaica. The "Threat" was built by renown dancehall veterans Steely & Clevie and mixed at Steven Stanley's studio in Jamaica. To keep you involved till the very end a "bashment" album needs a riddim with a strong hook as could be experienced with this year's biggest selling "one riddim" set in the world to date, the "Diwali". Steely & Clevie have built a solid riddim around a rock steady picking guitar lick and we have to admit that it works very well. Troy & Garfield threaten us with twenty hard hitting cuts including "Ghetto Girls" by the ever present "Energy God" Elephant Man, who kicks this set off in fine style. But also beware of deadly goods such as Assasin's "Celebrate", T.O.K.'s "Where I'm From", Lexxus' "Gal Out A Road", Hawkeye's "Dreams & Hopes" and Shaddu's "Fi Real". Beenie Man's brother Kirk Davis and Lukie D are the sole vocal representatives featured here. It's Kirk Davis' "Shake It" that makes the best impression, although Lukie D's "Woman With Shape" isn't far behind.

Teacher & Mr. T.