Various artists album review
Riddim Driven Vol. 3 ~ Thunder & Bedroom
VP Records - Walboomers Music
15 - 04 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Bounty Killer - No Shame
  2. DaVille - Living My Life
  3. Frisco Kid - Success
  4. Sean Paul & Mr. Easy - She Likes It
  5. Merciless & Ce'Cile - We Nah Talk
  6. Assasin - How We Roll
  7. Buccaneer - Cramp Your Style
  8. Harry Toddler - Tired Fi See Mi Face
  9. Devonte & Tanto Metro - Real Bad Man
  10. T.O.K. - Watch Yu Hype
  11. Red Rat & Mr. Wilson - So What
  12. Mossy Kid - Die For My Girls
  13. Thunder Riddim Version
  14. Capleton - How Dem So Hype
  15. Elephant Man - SCLA-Die
  16. Mr. Vegas - Land Of My Birth
  17. Bounty Killer - Fortune
  18. Frisco Kid - Certain Things
  19. Madd Anju - My Best Friend
  20. Hawkeye - Hotta Dan You
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The third installment in VP Records' "Riddim Driven" series features two brandnew Dancehall riddims from producers Jeremy Harding ('2 Hard Productions') with "Thunder" and Preston Onfroy ('In Time Productions') with the "Bedroom" riddim. In 1998 then 27-year-old Jeremy Harding produced Beenie Man's "Who Am I (Zim Zimma)" over the "Playground" riddim. It became the first hardcore dancehall tune to cross over in mainstream for years. Since, ace producer Jeremy Harding has launched several massive juggling riddims like for example "Mercury", "Medina" and "Lightning". The latter is followed by the hot and exciting "Thunder" riddim, which is featured here with 12 thunderous vocal cuts and the version. Each piece for the riddim showcases the artist's strength to the max, so no weak track to be found. Truly exceptional as these dancehall bashment runnings are often regarded to be ruled by imaginative, off-the-cuff creativity and gratuitous excitement, which brings forth nuff fillers and only few killers. Standouts are Bounty Killer's "No Shame", Frisco Kid's "Success", Sean Paul & Mr. Easy's "She Likes It" Merciless & Ce'Cile's "We Nah Talk" and Devonte & Tanto Metro's "Real Bad Man". "Bedroom" comes with a different vibe and boasts seven brandnew tracks from the usual suspects. All artists deliver their high tempo lyrics over an angry slice of hardcore ragga with Capleton, Elephant Man and Bounty Killer being the ones that deliver the most vibrant efforts. However, it is Mr. Vegas who delivers a great effort. Although only 1 minute and 45 seconds playing time (??!!), "Land Of My Birth" is a real killer tune.

Teacher & Mr. T.