Tough Times Riddim
Hungry Lion Records
Digital Release
August 2, 2015

Track list
  1. Anthony B - Whoa Mama Africa
  2. Lucky Jobe - Ruffa Times
  3. Iba Mahr - Awakening
  4. Versatile - Praise Jah
  5. Bugle - Rope
  6. Jah Scripture - Watch Over Me
  7. I-Octane - Chatty Mouth
  8. Louie Culture - Must Touch Road
  9. Determine - When Will It End
  10. Victorious Vibrations - Stiff Neck
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
From Kingston, Jamaica based Hungry Lion Records comes the "Tough Times Riddim", which turns out to be a rich and warm fresh original reggae backdrop with a kicking slapping bass. A lot of people face tough times and struggle in everyday societies worldwide. Tough times come in many different ways, which the 10 artists who took part in this juggling project elaborate on in their own view or experiences.

The roster of artists that have voiced the riddim features a mixture of veterans like Anthony B, Determine and Louie Culture as well as interesting current artists such as Iba Mahr, I-Octane and Bugle. Furthermore the listener is introduced to upcomers like Lucky Jobe, Versatile and Jah Scripture. It are these kinda riddims that fit Anthony B well as is once again experienced when listening to the project's solid opener "Whoa Mama Africa". However the cuts that make the best impression and thus the one ones to check are Iba Mahr's compelling "Awakening" and Bugle's powerful "Rope". It's also good to have a tune by Louie Culture featured here as we haven't heard that much from him in the past decade or so. "Must Touch Road" shows that he's still able to deliver a noteworthy tune. When it comes to tunes delivered by upcomers it are Versatile's "Praise Jah" and Jah Scripture's "Watch Ove Me" that leave a good impression.

The "Tough Times Riddim" is worth a listen, so check it out.