Various artists album review
Trojan Club Reggae Box Set ~ Limited Edition
Triple CD box set
10 - 09 - 2000

Tracking list

    Disc 1
  1. Holly Holy-Fabulous Flames
  2. Take A Letter To Maria-Dandy
  3. The Law-Andy Capp
  4. Groovy Situation-Derrick Harriott
  5. I Need Your Sweet Inspirations -Pioneers
  6. Boom Shacka Lacka-Hopeton Lewis & The Chosen Few
  7. Cherry Oh Baby-Eric Donaldson
  8. To The Fields-Herman Sweet Jamaica-Neville Willoughby
  9. Little Boy Blue-Verne & Son
  10. I Love Jamaica-Neville Willoughby
  11. Those Good Good Old Days-Jimmy Cliff
  12. Mother & Child Reunion-Pioneers
  13. Merry Up-God Sons
  14. Come Back & Stay Version-Lizzie
  15. Riot-Soul Syndicate
  16. Just A Dream-Slim Smith
   Disc 2
  1. Louie Louie-Toots & The Maytals
  2. Scorpion-Lloyd & Carey
  3. My Ebony Eyes-Chosen Few
  4. I'll Be True To You-Tito Simon
  5. Time Hard-George Dekker
  6. Star Trek-Vulcans
  7. Sharper Than A Razor-U Roy Junior
  8. Don't Stop-Danny Ray
  9. Watch That Little Girl-Nicky Thomas
  10. Red Herring-Vulcans
  11. Lottery Spin-Zap Pow
  12. Build It Up-Tito Simon
  13. Reggae Makossa-Brent Dowe
  14. Ton Up Kids-Dave & Ansel Collins
  15. Images Of You-Nicky Thomas
  16. Check Out Yourself-Cimarons
  17. Cherrie Baby-Messengers
    Disc 3
  1. When Will I See You Again-Marcia Griffiths
  2. Sweet Harmony-Lloyd Charmers
  3. Darling You Send Me-Ken Boothe
  4. I Am Gone-Derrick Morgan & Hortence
  5. Kung Fu Fighting-Cimarons
  6. Solitary Man-Skin Flesh & Bones
  7. Best Time Of My Life-Pat Kelly
  8. Rock Your Baby-Cimarons
  9. Let's Get It On Version-Lloyd Charmers
  10. Changing Partners-Barbara Jones
  11. Irie Festival-Turner McCormack
  12. Bammie Fe Fish-Skin, Flesh & Bones
  13. Come Lay Some Loving On Me-Jenny Taylor
  14. Some Guys Have All The Luck-Derrick Harriott
  15. This Monday Morning Feeling-Tito Simon
  16. Enter Into His Gates With Praise-Johnny Clarke
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

Trojan Records continues to release "limited edition" triple cd box sets, which happen to be nicely packaged selections coming out of their extensive vaults.
This box set gathers the sets of the Trojan Club Reggae series. The first Club Reggae album was issued in early 1971 and it featured some of the biggest selling singles from the previous twelve months, including the UK no. 1 Double Barrel by Dave & Ansel Collins. The second volume joined it later the same year, with volume 3 seeing release in 1972. The disc contains tracks from these three volumes, including weel know tunes like Eric Donaldson's Cherry Baby, Riot from the Soul Syndicate featuring Johnny 'Dizzy' Moore on trumpet.
Disc Two features some fine selections taken from the following sets of the Club Reggae series. Volume 4 was issued towards the end of 1972. Deejay duo Lloyd Young and Carey Johnson toast over a Maytones tune on Scorpion. Time Hard is a rare lead outing for Pioneers member George Dekker, said to be Desmond Dekker's halfbrother. Start Trek is a tune that features a moog synthesizer as lead instrument. It was this track, created in the UK, by Trojan's Bush Team, that started the whole synthesizer craze in reggae. U Roy Junior's track Sharper Tha A Razor is a toast over Ken Parker's 'I Just Wanna Be Loved'. In the summer of 1973 the company released the fifth volume. The Vulcans' Red Herring uses the same riddim track as Ken Boothe's 'Freedom Street'. Here you'll also find the novelty record Lottery Spin by Zappow.
In 1974 the last volume was issued. It features several well known covers like Marcia Griffiths' When Will I See You Again, Kung Fu Fighting and Rock Your Baby by The Cimarons. The disc closes with the heaviest track on the album, Johnny Clarke's roots anthem Enter Into His Gates With Praise, originally issued in the UK on Trojan's Explosion subsidiary label.

Teacher & Mr. T.