Various artists album review
Trojan Jamaican Superstars Box Set ~ Limited Edition
Triple CD box set
16 - 08 - 1999

Tracking list

    Disc 1
  1. Gregory Isaacs - Loving Pauper
  2. Gregory Isaacs - My Time
  3. Gregory Isaacs - Don't Go
  4. Gregory Isaacs - Coming Home
  5. Gregory Isaacs - Promised Land
  6. Gregory Isaacs - Give A Hand
  7. Gregory Isaacs - Love Is Overdue
  8. Gregory Isaacs - Way Of Life
  9. Gregory Isaacs - Lonely Man
  10. Delroy Wilson - Cool Operator
  11. Delroy Wilson - Rascal Man
  12. Delroy Wilson - Better Must Come
  13. Delroy Wilson - Baby I Need Your Loving
  14. Delroy Wilson - Pretty Girl
  15. Delroy Wilson - Mu Baby Is Gone
  16. Delroy Wilson - Living In The Footsteps
  17. Delroy Wilson - It's A Shame
   Disc 2
  1. Alton Ellis - Soul Groover
  2. Alton Ellis - Big Bad Boy
  3. Alton Ellis - You've Made Me So Very happy
  4. Alton Ellis - Lord Deliver Us
  5. Alton Ellis - Truly
  6. Alton Ellis - Give Me Your Love
  7. Alton Ellis - What Does It Take To Win Your Love
  8. Alton Ellis - I Am Still In Love With You
  9. Pat Kelly - Soulful Love
  10. Pat Kelly - How Long Will It Take
  11. Pat Kelly - Talk About Love
  12. Pat Kelly - The Prophet
  13. Pat Kelly - Lonely Man
  14. Pat Kelly - I Wish It Would Rain
  15. Pat Kelly - He Ain't Heavy
  16. Pat Kelly - Best Time Of My Life
    Disc 3
  1. John Holt - After All
  2. John Holt - Keep It Up
  3. John Holt - Let's Get It While It's Hot
  4. John Holt - Stick By Me
  5. John Holt - Ghetto Girl
  6. John Holt - My Satisfaction
  7. John Holt - Up Park Camp
  8. John Holt - You Baby
  9. Dennis Brown - Tracks Of Life
  10. Dennis Brown - Blood Son
  11. Dennis Brown - Moving Away
  12. Dennis Brown - It's Too Late
  13. Dennis Brown - Cassandra
  14. Dennis Brown - Some Like It Hot
  15. Dennis Brown - Westbound Train
  16. Dennis Brown - I Am The Conqueror
  17. Dennis Brown- Musical Heatwave
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Trojan Records continues to release "limited edition" triple cd box sets, which happen to be nicely packaged selections coming out of their extensive vaults. This compilation set focuses on the "Jamaican superstars" Gregory Isaacs, Delroy Wilson, John Holt, Dennis Brown, Alton Ellis and Pat Kelly.
Mr Cool Ruler, Gregory Isaacs started his career in the late 60s, joined the Concords and scored in 1970 with a song he recorded for producer Rupie Edwards Lonely man. In 1973 he teamed up with producer Gussie Clarke and entered the charts with un update of the Dobby Dobson tune "Loving Pauper"". The following years he recorded for a variety of producers. Included here are "Coming Home", a Pete Weston production, the two Alvin Ranglin produced sides "Love Is Overdue" and "Don't Go" and the hitsingles Way Of Life" and Give A Hand" which he cut for Sidney Crooks. The Bob Andy cover "My Time" is also present on this set.
While still in his childhood Delroy Wilson cut his first sides for Coxsone Dodd. During the rocksteady era he had a massive hit with 'Dancing Mood'. After leaving Studio One he joined Bunny Lee's impressive rosta of artistes and scored huge hits like "Better Must Come", "Cool Operator" and "Living In The Footsteps". Over the years the hits came thick and fast with "My Baby Is Gone" for Niney, for Joe Gibbs "Pretty Girl" and the remake of The Spinners' "It's A Shame" which he recorded for Channel One owner Jo Jo Hookim. In 1995, at the age of 46, he sadly passed away.
Alton Ellis O.D. has the distinction of being one of Jamaica's pioneer recording artist, cutting his first hit -Muriel- in the late 50s. During the sixties he recorded extensively for both Duke Reid and Coxsone Dodd. From 1971 come the wonderful Duke Reid productions "What Does It take" and "You Made Me So Very Happy", two songs he also recorded for Coxsone Dodd. "Soul Groover" was done for Winston Riley, whilst "Big Bad Boy" is a Keith Hudson produced side. For Lloyd Daley he cut the superb single "Lord Deliver Us". Also included here are some self produced sides such as "Give Me Your Love", "Truly" (not the Marcia Griffiths tune !) and "I Am Still In Love With You" which is a remake of his Studio One cut.
Pat Kelly started his career as a member of the renown rocksteady group The Techniques. In 1968 he embarked on a series of solo sides, eventually finding success with Bunny Lee's How Long Will It Take. In 1971 after a stay in London he returned to Jamaica and took up recording for the aforementioned Bunny Lee. "He Ain't Heavy" and the magnificent "The Prophet" are two of his most successful outings from that period.
Disc three concentrates on two of reggae music's most beloved singers, John Holt and the late Dennis Brown. John Holt was a member of the legendary Paragons, one of Jamaica's most successful vocal harmony groups of the sixties. In 1969 he embarked on a successful solo career and a run of hits for Duke Reid in that year were quickly followed by more big sellers. In 1971 he had two major hits with "Keep It Up" for Alvin Ranglin and "Stick By Me" for Bunny Lee. He became the most commercially successful reggae singer of all, going on to achieve international fame. Also featured here are two fine Channel One productions, a cover of Dennis Brown's "Ghetto Girl" and the well known "Up Park Camp" track. Child prodigy Dennis Brown is another singer who first tasted whilst recording for Coxsone Dodd. In the seventies he recorded for most of Jamaica's leading producers. Singer/producer Derrick Harriot released some fine sides, including "Musical Heatwave", for Herman Chin Loy Dennis recorded the Carol King remake "It's Too late", before a move to Niney The Obserbver's stable resulted in an avalanche of hits with "Cassandra", "Westbound Train", "Blood Son" and "I Am The Conqueror" amongst others. A wonderful package of essential and lovely music from way back !

Teacher & Mr. T.