A Tribute 2 Studio One & Treasure Isle Records
Cou$ins Records-Black Arrow
July 31, 2006

Track list
  1. Seem To Me - Ambelique
  2. Be Careful - Don Campbell
  3. Those Guys - Pat Kelly
  4. Come We Go Do It - Blackstones
  5. Talking Love - Cornell Campbell
  6. Scattered Showers - Ambelique
  7. Trying To Conquer Me - Delroy Wilson
  8. Where Is The Love - Glen Washington
  9. What A Feeling - Winston Reedy
  10. Bad Situation - Luciano
  11. Smile - Johnny Clarke
  12. Land Of My Father - Earl Sixteen
  13. Last Train - Everton Blender
  14. What Is Words - Turbulence
  15. Tell Me Baby - Ronnie Davis
  16. Never Give Up - Richie Davis
  17. Ten 2 One - Johnny Clarke
  18. Running Up & Down - George Nooks
  19. I Am Crazy - Leroy Mafia
  20. Perfidia - Johnny Clarke
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 3/4
Cou$ins Records producer Donville Davis has already proven he's capable of relicking classic riddims in fine style with 'Rocksteady & Beatitude' and this year already released the strong various artists albums "Strictly One Drop Vol. 1" and "JA2UK Singers Vol. 3" and now takes the riddims of Jamaica's two most important and influential studios as backing for sweet UK and JA lovers rock, - this time thus walking in the footsteps of fellow UK label Peckings whose efforts with Bitty McLean's "Peckings Presents ... On Bond Street With The Supersonics" and its various artists follow up "Old Skool Young Blood Vol. 1" were extremely succesfull - for the compilation "A Tribute 2 Studio One & Treasure Isle Records". Opening this album is the fine vocalist Ambelique, actually Owen Silvera, who once was known as Ramon the Mexican, when he used to introduce many of Harriott's western parodies with the Crystals and some of Lee Perry's western inspired Upsetters instrumentals, doing a straight cover of Dobby Dobson's 1968 Studio One classic "Seem To Me" before UK lovers rock stalwart Don Campbell - former Undivided Roots member alongside Fish Brown, Tony Philips and Carlton Ogilvie, all members of today's highly rated Ruff Cut Band, who propelled in 1994 to the status of Best UK Male Singer - delivers the great "Be Careful" over the same riddim. The always successful 'Those Guys'-riddim, originally recorded in 1968 by the Sensations for Duke Reid's Treasure Isle (and John Holt in the same year as "I'll Be Lonely" for Coxsone Dodd's Studio One) and revived in 2000 for Beres Hammond's massive "They Gonna Talk" and two years ago by Bitty McLean for his scorcher "Baby Tonight", is first used for the some three decades ago recorded version of "Those Guys" by former Uniques and Techniques singer Pat Kelly to be followed by the Blackstones - who were the last (and strangely enough only UK) artists to record an album for Clement 'Sir Coxsone' Dodd, before he passed away on May 4, 2004, the excellent "Tribute To Studio 1" - showcasing their great vocal harmonies on "Come We Go Do It". "Talking Love" is a great rerecording of his own 1975 tune by Cornell Campbell (misspelt on the album cover as "Taking Love"), using the riddim as well for Ambelique's very fine "Scattered Showers", followed by Delroy Wilson, who in 1995, at the depressingly early age of 46, sadly passed away, ravaged by the drink that had overtaken his life, with his seminal originally in 1967 for Coxsone Dodd recorded "Trying To Conquer Me" and Glen Washington's very smooth tune over its riddim "Where Is The Love". Winston Reedy, who has never been able to match the success of his archetypical UK lovers rock anthem "Dim The Lights", sings the beautiful "What A Feeling" followed by Luciano's excellent take on the same 'What A Feeling'-riddim "Bad Situation". Johnny Clarke covers the great 1977 Studio One Silvertones song "Smile", familiar to younger reggae listeners as the riddim of Garnett Silk's "Mama Africa" also used as riddim here for the great Earl Sixteen song "Land Of My Father". Everton Blender performs a great version of "Last Train" originally recorded in 1967 by the Melodians for Duke Reid's Treasure Isle and then Turbulence's beautiful love-gone-wrong tune that also appeared on "JA2UK Singers Vol. 3" over the same riddim "What Is Words" is featured. Ronnie Davis - who after leaving the great rocksteady group the Tennors became one of the most prolific and successful solo vocalists in Jamaica in the early 70s before together with his friends from Westmoreland, Lloyd Ricketts and Keith Porter, he founded the original Itals - sings the very fine "Tell Me Baby" before Richie Davis, who never seems to lack on a Cou$ins compilation, delivers the equally nice "Never Give Up". Johnny Clarke already did great covers of classic tunes in the 70s, and shows with his second tune on this album that he's still capable of doing exactly that with a great rendition of the Mad Lads' "Ten 2 One" originally recorded in 1969 as Highlites at Studio One and then the riddim is skillfully sung over by George Nooks for his "Running Up & Down". Leroy Mafia gives us the third tune over the riddim opening this album 'Seem To Me' with the beautiful "I Am Crazy" leaving the honour to close this album to Johnny Clarke contributing his third tune, an excellent cover of Phyllis Dillon's 1967 Treasure Isle all-time-classic "Perfidia" (misspelt as Pafrida), in 1939 composed by Mexican composer Alberto Dominguez (1913 - 1975) and perhaps most associated with Glenn Miller, although the biggest hit version was waxed by Xavier Cugat (and everyone from Nat King Cole to Benny Goodman and Jimmy Dorsey recorded it). A truly great album because of its selection of classic Studio One & Treasure Isle songs and riddims and the well written new tunes over these riddims constituting a real "Tribute 2 Studio One & Treasure Isle Records", that could however even have been much better if in some songs the backing riddims wouldn't have dominated the vocals and the overall sound quality would have been much more balanced and thus better.