Various artists album review
Riddim Driven Vol. 12 ~ Trilogy Pt. 2 / Ole Sore
VP Records - Walboomers Music
10 - 10 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. All Out - Bounty Killer
  2. 911 - Ward 21 & Elephant Man
  3. Loose Ball - Buccaneer
  4. Cripple - Merciless
  5. A Nuff Things - Mr. Easy
  6. Bite Di Dust - Frisco Kid
  7. Naah Stop - Ricky Rudie & Bling Dawg
  8. Musidem - Chuck Fender
  9. Not Me - Elephant Man
  10. I Donít Care - Mr. Lex
  11. Uncensored - Lady Saw
  12. Ole Sore - Red Rat
  13. Sared - David King & Rasta Youth
  14. Bus Wi Gun (Ring Ring) - Wayne Marshall & Baby G
  15. Another Robbery - Ward 21
  16. Fat Nuh Rahtid - Chicky D
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

VP Records' "Riddim Driven" series brings fans of hardcore Dancehall music a split riddim album, which showcases the amazing talents of vet producer Lloyd "King Jammy" James and the eccentric weirdos of the Ward 21 crew. Featured are eight new versions for one of this summer's hottest riddims called "Trilogy" and another eight cuts across the brand new "Ole Sore".
The incomparable "Trilogy", the booming riddim with a lurching phat bassline and "screaming" electric guitar sample, takes off with a big tune by Bounty Killer, who delivers the truly massive "war" tune "All Out" (the only track voiced at Mixing Lab studio!?). Other notable efforts over the riddim come from the wicked combination Ward 21 & Elephant Man ("911"), Merciless ("Cripple") and Ricky Rudy aka Bling Dawg ("Naah Stop"), while also Buccaneer's pumped up "Loose Ball" and Frisco Kid's "Bite Di Dust" will suit the dancehall massive's taste. Among this deejay dominated set one also finds the singer Mr. Easy, whose "A Nuff Things" is a decent piece.
The second part features the fresher than fresh "Ole Sore" riddim, which has to almost impossible task to match its predecessor. With its polyrhythmic "drum and bass" feel and double time bounce it proves the perfect backdrop for Lady Saw's ""Uncensored", a topic of safe sex delivered inna talk show stylee. Also Elephant Man's "Not Me", Red Rat's title track "Ole Sore", and Wayne Marshall & Baby G's "Bus Wi Gun (Ring Ring)" belong to the above par efforts across the riddim. No need to say that, lyrically spoken, the tracks on this set are mainly laced with gun talk and slackness, which actually will not surprise today's dancehall followers.
So, hardcore dancehall fan pick up this two-riddim CD, 'cause you'll find enough winners to make your dancehall heart beat faster!

Teacher & Mr. T.