Triumphant Rhythm
January 17, 2006

Track list
  1. Mama - Gyptian
  2. How Do You Feel - Anthony B
  3. Trodding - Natty King
  4. Screaming - Luton Fyah
  5. Shoulda Neva - Perfect
  6. Oh Jah Jah - Luciano
  7. Frame - Fantan Mojah
  8. Everything - Turbulence
  9. Firm Up Yourself - Chezidek
  10. Always On My Mind - Ras Shiloh
  11. If The Table Turn - Thriller U
  12. Crying - Lukie D
  13. Going Away - Norris Man & Natural Black
  14. Can't You See - Ghost & Roundhead
  15. Let It Be Known - Mr. Easy
  16. Trust Jah - Teflon
  17. The One - Prestige
  18. Triumphant Rhythm - Kemar McGregor
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Kemar 'DJ Flava' McGregor produced the big reggae chart storming "Mama" don't cry by upcoming talented roots singer Gyptian, and now treats us in association with Greensleeves Records (who remarkably do not include this one-riddim album in their Greensleeves Rhythm Album series, that obviously is strictly dancehall oriented) on the whole selection of tunes released on his No Doubt Records over this excellent Danny 'Axe Man' Thompson, Carlington Morrison and veteran master Nyahbinghi drummer Bongo Herman. Gyptian's scorcher is opening this album, followed by Anthony B's fine "How Do You Feel", Natty King's "Trodding" and Luton Fyah's smooth "Screaming". Perfect equally smooth "Shoulda Neva" is next, before Luciano delivers his great "Oh Jah Jah" and Fantan Mojah excels in his harsh anti-Babylon-system tune "Frame". Turbulence gets his apology across heartfelt that he misjudged his benevolent girl in you say I gave you "Everything" but love to be just another material girl. Chezidek with "Firm Up Yourself", Ras Shiloh with "Always On My Mind" - on which some parts are vocodered just like on Gyptian's "Mama" - and the these days unfortunately too often neglected Thriller U with "If The Table Turn" all deliver great singers tunes, but are still surpassed by Lukie D's heartfelt accusation of all who kill people and let people die in "Crying". "Going Away" is a great combination (though clearly inspired by Gyptian's "Is There A Place" over Don Corleon's 'Seasons') with a fine singing Norris Man and a very relaxed deejaying Natural Black, followed by an unlikely but even better combination, with a non-off-key(!) Ghost alongside Roundhead on the call for unity "Can't You See". Mr. Easy is smooth lovers rocking (with some vocodered vocals) on "Let It Be Known" before Teflon deejays at slow pace to "Trust Jah" and Prestige delivers the broken heart tune "The One" as last vocal tune, before the clean version of this great "Triumphant Rhythm" closes this excellent one-riddim roots album (and I just wonder how they now feel at Greensleeves about not having pulled off this same thing with both Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett a.k.a. Don Corleon's one drop riddims 'Drop Leaf' and 'Seasons'), that puts Kemar 'DJ Flava' McGregor firmly on the map as producer.