Various artists album review
Riddim Rider ~ Trod'n To Zion
Charm-Jet Star
23 - 03 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Luciano - Come Away
  2. Warrior King - Virtuous Woman
  3. LUST - Run Free
  4. Glen Washington - Wanna Taka You Home
  5. Junior Kelly - You Can Make It
  6. George Nooks - Zion Gate
  7. Ultimate Shines - Call On Jah
  8. Half Pint - Suzie
  9. Devonte - Chances Are
  10. Supa Barry - Eye Water Shed
  11. Pele King - Chalice Nuh Fi Empty
  12. Patchy - Why Did You Lie
  13. Glen Ricks - Love From Your Heart
  14. Prince Mohammed - Forty Leg Dread
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

This second installment in Jet Star's series called "Riddim Rider" features 14 pieces on one of the biggest reggae dancehall riddim tracks of the year 2001, much in demand and highly anticipated by a worldwide audience. Laid by the renown Firehouse Crew this "one drop" riddim - actually a contemporary version of the riddim track of John Holt's rocksteady hit from his Studio One days, "My Satisfaction" and then in the seventies reworked by Joe Gibbs for Culture's scorcher "Zion Gate" - became so widespread in its appeal due to Warrior King's No.1 single "Virtuous Woman". The latter - a rich and rousing tune packed with tingling emotions - is also included on this entertaining compilation set which was produced by Michael "Mikey John" Johnson and Ian "Wayne" Williams for "Lion Paw Productions". Other hit tunes for the riddim are featured here as well including Luciano's wicked "Come Away", Lukie D, Thriller U, Singing Melody and Tony Curtis aka LUST's return single "Run Free", Glen Washington's fine lovers tune "Wanna Take You Home", Junior Kelly's awesome tune "You Can Make It", Half Pint's enjoyable "Suzie" and George Nooks' solid rendition of Culture's "Zion Gate". Besides these leading cuts one should not overlook unreleased thrillers like the superb "Call On Jah" by Ultimate Shines, "Chalice Nuh Fi Empty" by newcomer Pele King, "Why Did You Lie" by Patchy and the absolute killer tune, George Nooks aka Prince Mohammed's updated classic deejay piece "Forty Leg Dread".
Having ruled reggae charts, airwaves and bashment sessions all over the world this "one riddim" set will captivate every reggae fan. Satisfaction guaranteed!!

Teacher & Mr. T.