Various artists album review
Trojan Explosion
April 2, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Lock Jaw - Dave Barker with Tommy McCook & The Upsetters
  2. Wonderful World- Beautiful People - Jimmy Cliff
  3. Bashment Girl - Wayne Wonder
  4. Love Is Overdue - Gregory Isaacs
  5. Barbwire - Nora Dean
  6. Am I Black Enough - The Chosen Few
  7. Man In The Street - Don Drummond & The Skatalites
  8. New Star - Tapper Zukie & The Musical Intimidators
  9. Ba Ba Boom - The Jamaicans
  10. Buddy Bye - Johnny Osbourne
  11. Me No Born Yah - The Reggae Boys
  12. Slow Rock - Laurel Aitken
  13. Monkey Man - The Maytals
  14. Don't Call Me Daddy - Derrick Morgan
  15. Pon Mi Nozzle - Cutty Ranks
  16. Bathroom Skank - The Upsetters
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

Since Sanctuary Records Group took over Trojan Records the quality and quantity of their releases have increased. Their recent compilation set, "Trojan Explosion", subtitled "Intensified Club Reggae Classics" collects some 16 tracks drawn from Trojan's archives.
Consciously non genre-specific- the music on this set hop-scotches through all types of Jamaican music - from the earliest Ska- through Rocksteady- early Reggae- Roots- Dub- DJ- Lover's Rock- right up to contemporary Dancehall - rather like a cool older brother would put together for his kid sibling to show off at school. Most tunes here are Trojan classics except for some dancehall tunes : Wayne Wonder's cut on the wicked "Joy Ride" riddim and Cutty Ranks' 1991 hit called Pon Mi Nozzle. Rocksteady standouts like Ba Ba Boom and Norma Dean's lick of the 'I Don't Care' riddim -Barb Wire are two all time favorites of us. Furthermore this set offers some great ska tunes and a first class roots tune by the Chosen Few titled Am I Black Enough.
According to the liner notes all the tracks are red hot and aimed firmly at the dancefloor....and we definitely agree!

Teacher & Mr. T.