Various artists album review
Riddim Driven Vol. 6 ~ Tun It Up
VP Records-Walboomers Music
13 - 04 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Heavybeat Crew - Show Love
  2. Kashief Lindo - One Drop Rule
  3. Freddie McGregor - Gatepass To Your Heart
  4. Mical Rustle - Sweet U Like That
  5. Nikesha - Feel It Believe It
  6. Tinga Stewart - Let The Music Play
  7. Kashief Lindo - You're Just Right
  8. Heavybeat Crew - It's The Same Geow
  9. Jimmy Riley - Sons Of Zion
  10. Glen Washington - Can't Get Away From Love
  11. Tinga Stewart - You Were Meant For Me
  12. Mical Rustle - You Showed Me Love
  13. Nikesha - A World Of Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

From the Heavybeat Recording Studios comes this sixth volume of VP Records' "Riddim Driven" series. The other volumes of the series feature tough dancehall riddims, but this current one licks two classic reggae riddims : Slim Smith's "Rougher Yet" riddim and The Paragons "The Same Song". Here you'll find seven tunes across the first riddim and the remaining six are across the second riddim. Producer of the album is Willie Lindo, a veteran reggae producer who is specialised in producing soulful and melodic tunes, with lots of crossover potential.
His son Kashief Lindo started out as a child star, operating out of his father's studios in Miami. During his career he has developed from a poppy child star to a mature reggae personality who uses influences from R&B, Soul and Hip Hop to brighten up his recordings. He's present here with two cuts, both across the "Rougher Yet Riddim". The first one's One Drop Rule on which he tackles Bob Marley's 'Duppy Conqueror', the second one is a decent love song entitled You're Just Right. Reggae veteran Freddie McGregor contributes a very strong track -Gatepass To Your Heart and another reggae vet, Tinga Stewart, delivers two fine songs. Jimmy Riley comes up with an excellent roots tune Sons Of Zion. Newcomers Mical Rustle and Nikesha both contribute two tunes, with Mical Rustle's Sweet U Like That being one of my favorite tunes. Glen Washington's Can't get Away From Love is one of the highlights of the album. The backing for the 'Rougher Yet' riddim was provided by Computer Paul and the Heywood brothers Mafia and Fluxy laid down the 'The Same Song' riddim.
'Tun It Up' is an enjoyable and melodic two riddim album.

Teacher & Mr. T.