A-Lone Presents ~ Two Rocksteady Riddims
A-Lone Productions
January 26, 2008

Track list
  1. Jah Jah Delivered Me - Glen Washington
  2. Keep The Faith - Alpheus
  3. Heads Of Government - Ranking Forrest
  4. Musical Family - Lone Ark Riddim Force
    'Dirty Dozen'-riddim
  5. Ultimate - Alpheus
  6. In The Distance - Glen Washington
  7. Whole Heap Of Style - Ranking Forrest
  8. A-Lone Riders - Lone Ark Riddim Force
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
A-Lone Productions (Santander, Spain), the musical project of producer, singer and musician Roberto Sanchez, who tries to recreate and express himself through the classic reggae sound and production of that classic sound. Roberto's influences are: musicians like The Revolutionaries, the sound from Channel One and Black Ark studio, mix-masters like King Tubby and Scientist and producers such as Bunny Lee and Linval Thompson, which he proved with his production of the truly stunning selection over Kiddus I's 'Graduation in Zion Riddim' for Lone Lions a collaboration with Mad Lions Producciones (Valencia, Spain). And now Roberto Sanchez digs even deeper into the past as the title of this new release is "Two Rocksteady Riddims".

Both are live played riddims, perfectly laid by Roberto Sanchez' Lone Ark Riddim Force and the first is the original 'Family'-riddim composed by Roberto Sanchez and the first to voice it is Studio One graduate Glen Washington who is in very fine form here thanking his saviour in "Jah Jah Delivered Me" followed by another discovery of the late Coxsone Dodd thus also rising to fame at Studio One, Alpheus, who recently released his strong sophomore album "Everything For A Reason" for France's Special Delivery and whose first tune on this album is the soothing "Keep The Faith" that emphasizes how extremely smooth his voice is and how perfectly this rocksteady backing suits that voice.

"Heads Of Government" is the debut recording of Ranking Forrest, who succeeds in bringing back the classic deejay style paying tribute to the foundation deejays of the late 60 and early 70s. The tune really sounds as if it were recorded 35 or 40 years ago in true old school deejay fashion and Ranking Forrest delivers his entertaining lyrics before the Lone Ark Riddim Force - formed by Iñigo 'Drummie' Elexpuru on drums, Josu Santamaria on guitars, Gorka Fernández, Aratz Díez and Jaime Fresh C. the horn section on trumpet, trombone and tenor sax respectively, Dubby Ambassah on percussion and Roberto Sanchez himself on bass and piano - strikes with the magnificent clean version of the "Musical Family"-riddim.

The second riddim is a take on Phil Pratt's production in 1968 of Vincent 'Don D jr.' Gordon's "Dirty Dozen", a wonderful sweet rocksteady riddim on which Alpheus is the first to sing about his love for his "Ultimate" girl before Glen Washington despite his raspy baritone sounding very melodically delivers the harsh reality about "False Leaders". Then Ranking Forrest delivers another stunning tribute to the days of old as far as deejaying is concerned, his "Whole Heap Of Style" is his second brilliant tune on this album, his second tune ever released of hopefully many more to be recorded in the future. The Lone Ark Riddim Force then shines once more in the instrumental version of the 'Dirty Dozen'-riddim called "A-Lone Riders" to finish an absolutely magnificant album, that despite being extremely short with just above 28 minutes still is worth every cent you'll pay for it (or for the 4 7"s on which these 8 tunes have been released as well). This is an essential must have set of tunes and if you're into foundation you're not going to believe your ears!