Tyrant Riddim
White Label Pre-Release
October 1, 2006

Track list
  1. Can't Run We Out - Anthony B
  2. No Licking - Perfect
  3. Riddim A Bounce - Teflon
  4. Do The Killing - Norris Man
  5. Paper To Burn - Future Fambo
  6. Muma Roun Here - Lady Saw
  7. Pap Me Down - Martina
  8. Kick A Gal Face - Vybz Kartel
  9. Take The Cussing - Predator
  10. Want Dis The King - Turbulence
  11. Gone Away - Beenie Man
  12. No Know The Man - Hero
  13. All Rise Everything - Movado
  14. One Ride In - Crimist
  15. Girls Girls - Sizzla
  16. No Safe - Major Sample
  17. Tyrant Riddim - Buggie
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Virtually no information on the sleeve on this release, that despite being an official release hasn't received a decent cover, and worse still bears 'promotional copy', and the only additional information besides the artists and tracktitles is that it is allegedly produced by 'Buggie'. On the other hand, the 'Tyrant'-riddim has been announced several times as being one of the upcoming riddims from Mario C(ampbell)'s 357 Records, and judging by the resemblances this riddim has with Mario C's earlier riddims, it's safe to assume that this is indeed the successor of 'Bomb A Drop!' and the to Tony Matterhorn credited 'Scoobay'. Strong tunes by the defiant Anthony B warning everyone challenging him, whether soundboys, gangsters, fassies and clowns "Can't Run We Out" and Perfect who makes clear he is not taking a fork and knife with him to bed, because he is not eating there in "No Licking" and Teflon celebrates rub-a-dubbing his girl(s) with "Riddim A Bounce". Norris Man delivers the very intriguing "Do the Killing" followed by Future Fambo's entertaining tune admitting spending money is my only bad habit in "Paper To Burn". Lady Saw's "Muma Roun Here" is rather disappointing in my opinion, but her twist on "It's A Shame, Shame, Shame" still is entertaining, while Martina's attempt at deejaying instead of singing works pretty well telling her former lover how he "Pap Me Down". Vybz Kartel's slackness is delivered in his usual extremely well timed flow in the very misogynous but I have to admit impressive "Kick A Gal Face". Predator is also doing very fine in "Take The Cussing" warning Macka Diamond me is man, me can't take the cussing, so right now Macka, come for your brushing as he makes clear that he is in Perfect's camp, i.e. no licking, even citing the bible on what he will and won't do in bed. Turbulence never sounded angrier before and without going over the top he delivers the excellent "Want Dis The King" before Beenie Man with "Gone Away" once more proves what a great entertainer he is followed by (the formerly known as Little) Hero delivers the strong reality tune "No Know The Man". Movado is present on almost every riddim released these days, and always contributes a fine tune, most likely about gangsters, his "All Rise Everything" being no exception. Crimist makes a very convincing debut with "One Ride In" before Sizzla delivers "Girls Girls", in my opinion one of his better faster paced efforts over a hardcore dancehall riddim and Major Sample, who recorded a couple of tunes at the end of the 90s and the early years of this decade, makes a successful return to the scene with "No Safe". Vybz Kartel gets in his second portion of slackness galore with "Tight Pussy", paying tribute to a pum pum lickle lickle lickle and asking the girl with the tighest pussy step forward, it might be repulsive to some, but still the way he delivers it alone is enough to pull up the tune. The "Tyrant Riddim" itself is then featured in its clean version, proving how catchy it is and how closely related to both 'Scoobay' and 'Bomb A Drop!'. Definitely one for the dancehall dancefloors and the hardcore dancehall lovers.