Nice Up The Dance: U.K. Bubblers 1984-87
2 CD
October 4, 2010

Nice Track list
Disc 1
  1. Tippa Irie & Daddy Colonel - Just A Speak
  2. Daddy Rusty - No No Way
  3. Daddy Sandy - Riddle Bubble
  4. Daddy Colonel - Lyric Banton
  5. Tippa Irie - It's Good To Have The Feeling You're The Best
  6. Tippa Irie - All The Time The Lyric A Rhyme
  7. Pato Banton - Mash Up The Telly
  8. Lesley Lyrics - Put Back Your Truncheon
  9. Daddy Colonel - Take A Tip From Me
  10. Sparky Dean - Satisfaction Guarenteed
  11. Tippa Irie & Pato Banton - Walk Pon The Spot
  12. Pato Banton - Don't Sniff Coke
  13. Tannoi - Cocaine Mash Up Your Brain
  14. Tannoi - Worries And Troubles
  15. Daddy Rusty - Roger The Dodger
  16. Tippa Irie - 769 1230
  17. Daddy Sandy - Vibes
  18. Tippa Irie - Have You Got A Neighbour
Disc 2
  1. Tippa Irie - Hello Darling
  2. Deborahe Glasgow - You're My Sugar
  3. Annette B - I Found Love
  4. Peter Spence - Don't Leave Me Lonely
  5. Deborahe Glasgow - Knight In Shining Armour
  6. Annette B - Casanova
  7. Ricky Tamlin - Going To A Party
  8. One Destiny ft. Dennis Gregory - No Regrets
  9. Deborahe Glasgow - Don't Stay Away
  10. Azana - Runaway Woman
  11. Sugar Merchant - Tears Of A Clown
  12. Tannoi - Gunshot Salute
  13. Tannoi - Rude Boys
  14. Sparky Dean - Yip Yap Rabbit
  15. Lesley Lyrics - Blind Date
  16. Pato Banton - Secret Thunderbird Drinker
  17. Tippa Irie - Dance Down A Yard
  18. Tippa Irie - Dance Up A Leeds
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 13-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 18
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
In 1984 Greensleeves launched a new label, called UK Bubblers, for UK toasters, in particular the new generation of British-born MCs. It was their answer to Fashion Records who had achieved great success with big tunes by Smiley Culture, Papa Face and Asher Senator. The first signings to the label were Tippa Irie, Daddy Colonel and Rusty from the then ruling UK sound Saxon. The label received full marks for its policy of giving young UK artists the chance to release their records. During the period 1984-1987 the UK Bubbles output was prolific, quality driven and extremely popular... and they were definitely troubling their Jamaican counterparts. The style was a fast blend of patois and cockney slang, humorous and very catchy, but on the other hand there was sweet lovers rock by the likes of Deborah Glasgow, Annette B and Azana. This double cd gives you an excellent overview of their output, and brings back, for those who were around at the time, some fine memories.

The first release on the label was Tippa Irie & Daddy Colonel with Just A Speak using the 'Answer' riddim. The next tune was Daddy Rusty's debut single. The Brixton MC, who was one of Saxon's main MCs, also used the 'Answer' riddim for his tune. The same riddim is used on Riddle Bubble by Daddy Sandy. Tippa Irie was the deejay who became extremely popular in that period. International success came with the cheesy Hello Darling. Deborah Glasgow answered quickly with Hello Sugar! Several of Tippa Irie's outings are included on this compilation. The humorous It's Good To Have The Feeling You're The Best pon the 'Conversation' riddim sold quite well, while All The Time The Lyric A Rhyme is a good example of speed chatting as he fires his lyrics across the 'Real Rock' riddim. Tippa Irie closes the compilation with two identical -- musically speaking -- tracks. Dance Down A Yard and Dance Up A Leeds both hail up the dance and assures us it will never go away.

Leicester born vocalist Tannoi climbed the charts in 1986 with his impressive tune Rude Boys. It was backed with the equally strong Gunshot Salute which used the 'Answer' riddim for full effect. A year before the young vocalist made a good impression with the double A sided 12" single Worries And Troubles b/w Cocaine Mash Up Your Brain. In 1986 Pato Banton delivered his fast paced anti-drug anthem Don't Sniff Coke across the 'Revolution' riddim. Great tune, it's a perfect example of the UK Bubblers style.

As said before, the label also issued several cool lovers rock sides. The late great Deborah Glasgow was around in music business since being a mere schoolgirl of fourteen. She versioned Phyllis Dillon's tune Don't Stay Away with considerable success. Knight In Shining Armour sold in very favourable qualities. Birmingham born Annette B. contributes two sultry lovers tunes called I Found Love and Casanova. Sugar Merchant adapted the great Smokey Robinson classic Tears Of A Clown while a young Peter Spence treats us to a nice romantic effort called Don't Leave Me Lonely.

The backing was provided by The Regulars, featuring Patrick Donegan and Joe Richards, both also active as studio engineers. This double disc package comes along with illustrated booklet and extensive liner notes by reggae connoisseur Noel Hawkes. Historical document!