Various artists album review
Universal Message
Vp / Walboomers Music
11 - 09 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Buju Banton - Truth
  2. Bushman - Grow Your Natty
  3. Glen Washington - Jah Glory
  4. Jah Cure & Sizzla - King In The Jungle
  5. Sanchez - Hands Of Babylon
  6. Capleton - The More Them Try
  7. Morgan Heritage - Down By The River
  8. Anthony Selassie & Louie Culture - Ya Ho
  9. Anthony B - Me Dem Ah Ban
  10. Luciano - Winter / Summer
  11. Cocoa Tea & Louie Culture - Zeeks
  12. Beres Hammond - Sing Glory
  13. Freddie McGregor - Jah Never Fail I
  14. Norris Man - Bad Road
  15. Morgan Heritage - When Will It All Change
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

The concept behind the album Universal Message is that music is a 'Universal Message', whether you're black, white, Indian, Chinese, purple or green, we all dance to the universal beat, music is something that breaks all language & race barriers. The album draws from several previously released albums and singles.
The 13 year old 'Politician riddim' gets a nineties treat in Bushman's track Grow your natty, telling the people to grow dreadlocks. Grow Your Natty is taken from his excellent 1997 debut album Nyah Man Chant. Glen Washington delivers his rendition of the 'Fade Away' riddim in Jah Glory. Beres Hammond is present here as vocalist -Sing Glory- but also as producer for his Harmony House label. Next to his own tune he also produced the two combination tracks King In The Jungle and Ya Ho. Sizzla and Louie Culture are responsable for the first track, whilst Anthony Selassie and Louie Culture superbly do over the Viceroys' Studio tune 'Ya Ho'.
Crooner Sanchez tackles the M16 riddim, itself being a remake of Roland Alphoso's Studio One classic 'Sadee Special'. His tune can be found on the John John produced album Perilous Time. Studio One veteran Freddie McGregor is featured here with the superior track Jah Never Fail I taken from the 1997 album Masterpiece .
Renowned saxophonist Dean Fraser has recorded some notheworthy tunes for his Cannon Productions label. Three of these tunes are featured here. Down By The River and When Will It Change by Morgan Heritage, and a fine track from the Messenger Luciano, entitled Winter / Summer. You will also find some great deejay tracks. Rootsmen Buju Banton and Capleton both deliver an excellent cut, whilst Anthony B. lays down the rastafari tune Me Dem Ah Ban.
A great and well varied collection !

Teacher & Mr. T.