Various artists album review
VP Records - Walboomers Music
29 - 07 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Surprize feat. Wayne Wonder - The Story
  2. Ward 21 - Last Night
  3. Sizzla - Top Ah Di Line
  4. Lexxus - More Than You
  5. Beenie Man - Victory
  6. Christopher - Ladies Man
  7. Capleton - Who Gonna Save You
  8. Wayne Wonder - Oh Baby
  9. Mr. Easy & Red Fox - Don't Change
  10. Elephant Man & Delly Ranks - Try Stop It
  11. Elephant Man - They Call Me
  12. Frisco Kid - Guinness
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Producer Louis "Flabba" Malcolm from the Mo Music Productions has established his name in the Dancehall scene with hit riddims like "Headache" and "Hurricane". The brand new hit riddim from the Mo Music Productions crew entitled "Unstoppable", has been firing in the dancehalls for some months now and here's the riddim album featuring mainly Jamaica's top deejays and singers. The riddim track is laid by Ricky "Mad Man" Myrie with mixing assistance from New York-based vet producer/engineer Phillip Smart. The r&b flavored "Unstoppable" is a melodic and danceable riddim, a guaranteed dancefloor filler. All cuts included are above mediocre efforts, so no weak tune to be found on this entertaining compilation set. This makes it hard to point out the very best, so let's stick to our favourite spins. They include Wayne Wonder's lovers tune "Oh Baby", Capleton's "Who Gonna Save You", the smoking hot Beenie Man piece "Victory", Elephant Man's wicked "They Call Me" and the combination tunes "Don't Change" from Mr. Easy & Red Fox and "The Story" from Surprize and Wayne Wonder, the former being the deejay alter ego of Wayne Wonder. Unfortunately this set omits Bounty Killer's excellent piece for the riddim, "Restaurant". For those who are looking for the version... the riddim track is added to Frisco Kid's "Guinness", which thus comes as an extended piece.

Teacher & Mr. T.