Various artists album review
Andy Presents Vintage Reggae Hits
RD Records
11 - 01 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. John Holt & The Paragons - Left With A Broken Heart
  2. Augustus Pablo - Pablo's Mood
  3. I Roy - Devil's Brother In Law
  4. John Holt & The Paragons - Quiet Place
  5. Gregory Isaacs - Are You Lonely
  6. Gregory Isaacs - Love I Lost
  7. Gregory Isaacs - Open The Door To Your Heart
  8. I Roy - Walks Right In
  9. Garth Dennis & Ducky Simpson - Slow Coach
  10. Jahmel - Sufferers Song
  11. Jahmel - Jah Is My King
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

"Andy Presents... Vintage Reggae Hits" was released quite some time ago, but most likely this album didn't reach a wide audience. A real pity because this set truly deserves a wider recognition. It features a fine selection of vintage reggae tracks from producer Roydale "Andy" Anderson, who first released these tunes on singles. Roydale "Andy" Anderson isn't a well known producer, but one cannot say he didn't work with the best as the musicians who played on this set include the Barrett brothers (Carlton and Aston - drums and bass - Wailers' original members), Lloyd Parks, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Tony Chin, Augustus Pablo, Earl "Wire" Lindo, Santa Davis, Bongo Herman, Dean Fraser, Nambo Robinson and Dirty Harry to name a few. Great reggae artists are featured as we're treated to efforts from Gregory Isaacs, John Holt & The Paragons, I.Roy and Garth Dennis & Ducky Simpson (original members of Black Uhuru). Roydale Anderson also presents a young singer called Jahmel, whom he discovered during one of the singer's magical perfomances at New York City. Although nowadays working with renown producer Donovan Germain, this great roots singer is still a superstar to come. Jahmel contributes two great tracks, "Sufferers Song" and "Jah Is My King", both taken from his excellent debut album "Watchful Eyes", no doubt one of the most underestimated roots albums in reggae history. Other highlights are Augustus Pablo's "Pablo's Mood", John Holt & The Paragons' "Quiet Place" (aka Man Next Door), "Love I Lost" and "Open The Door To Your Heart" by Gregory Isaacs, I Roy's "Walks Right In" and "Slow Coach" by the combination Garth Dennis & Ducky Simpson, which was later also recorded by the Wailing Souls.
"Andy Presents... Vintage Reggae Hits" is a great compilation set, well worth checking out!

Teacher & Mr. T.