Vintage Vocals Volume 2
Upstairs Music
April 15, 2008

Track list
  1. Marcia Griffiths - A Boy Name Tom
  2. Ken Boothe - Play For My Mother
  3. Leroy Sibbles - Dreaming About You
  4. Bob Andy - Peace In Your Mind
  5. Tyrone Taylor - Love Me Tender
  6. Leo Hall - Babylon Faling
  7. B.B. Seaton - Grandma's Hand
  8. Ronnie Davis - Ain't Got No Money
  9. Bobby & Maria - Hold Me In Your Arms
  10. Jimmy Riley - No Place To Hide
  11. The Aces - You Have Got Your Troubles
  12. Dobby Dobson - Midnight Blues
  13. Carl Dawkins - Hard Time
  14. Jackie Parris - Take A Message To Mary
  15. Larry Marshall - You Shouldn't Do That
  16. The Tennors - Run Come
  17. Tinga Stewart - Blow Blow
  18. Maria Baines - You Give Good Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 4
Here's the follow up to "Vintage Vocals Volume 1", which was a showcase coming from producer Danny Breakenridge's Upstairs Music label. Just like its predecessor this compilation is an 18-track journey down memory lane, featuring selections from the early seventies to early eighties.

Lots of tunes gathered here are covers of pop and soul tunes. Some turn out to be good pieces, others are below average efforts. Occasional roots tunes like the fantastic Run Come from The Tennors and Leo Halls's Babylon falling are refreshing moments on the album. Hold Me In Your Arms sounds really nice when it's sung by Bob Andy and Maria Baines. B.B. Seaton makes a good impression with a rendition of the Bill Whithers tune Grandma's Hand The late Tyrone Taylor fails to make an impression with Elvis Presley's Love A Tender, a case of a good singer with a wrong tune...

This collection is a good purchase for the more mature reggae lover, who already owns the complete Jet Star series 'Big People Music'. Sweet and mellow stuff!