Various artists album review
Vinyl With Love Part Two (Roots Music)
Panther Records
June 27, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Daweh Congo - Most Naturally
  2. Johnny Osbourne - Militancy
  3. Nico - Alleluia
  4. Al Campbell - Root Dem Out
  5. Cane Juice - What Time Is It
  6. Luciano - Bus Dem Down
  7. Nitty Kutchie - Nah Play Friendly
  8. Mikey Spice - Give A Little
  9. Marlon Stewart - Life
  10. Mark Wonder - So Much War
  11. Taffari - One Love (Flesh & Blood)
  12. Wayne Wonder feat. Surprize - I Was There
  13. Gregory Isaacs - Wha Dee
  14. Yami Bolo - Jah Love Guide I & I
  15. Buju Banton - Police And Rude Boy
  16. Teresa Jae - We The Innocent
  17. Beres Hammond - Say Thank You
  18. Junior Kelly - Jah Live On
  19. Bongo Kanni - Babylon System
  20. Various - Medley
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 2

Modern roots music is what Panther Records offers on their solid compilation set entitled "Vinyl With Love Part Two". Tracks included here are produced by Anthony "Soljie" Hamilton, M. Coburn & L. Ward (Reggae Vibes), Danny "Pepperseed" Bouten (Ovadoze Records), Mark Myrie (aka Buju Banton), Yami Bolo and Tony Philips (Ruff Cutt band). Daweh Congo, who shows that he fully benefits from the skills and experience of former Channel One engineer Soljie, delivers a brilliant piece entitled "Most Naturally". Next are eight cuts over Reggae Vibes' "Bus Dem Down" riddim, for which Luciano provides the title track. The Messenjah delivers one of the highlights for this rootical backdrop with matching cuts being Al Campbell's "Root Dem Out", Mikey Spice's "Give A Little", Marlon Stewart's "Life" and Militancy" by reggae veteran Johnny Osbourne. Then we're treated to three efforts over an infectious rub-a-dub style riddim called "Flesh & Blood". It kicks off with Mark Wonder, a fine but somewhat underrated roots singer whose reality tune "So Much War" is a decent piece. Worth of hearing is the solid "One Love (Flesh & Blood)" by Taffari. Wayne Wonder - performing as singer and also as the deejay Surprize - comes up with an above par tune. Blessed with a fine voice and capable of bringing a decent deejay part to a song, Wayne Wonder delivers an inspired sounding effort. Gregory "Cool Ruler" Isaacs performs a nice updated version of his own classic tune "Wa Da". Yami Bolo and Buju Banton show their inimitable style with solid tunes, before rather unknown female singer Teresa Jae takes over with the first cut on Ruff Cutt's mellow sounding "Say Thank You" riddim, which was made a hit by Beres Hammond. The latter brings forward this excellent tune in his own typical and well-known vocal style. It's a joy to play this track over and over again. The same riddim underpins Junior Kelly's awesome "Jah Live On" and Bongo Kanni's solid "Babylon System Wrong". All tracks featured on this cd were previously released as 7" singles.

Teacher & Mr. T.