Visions ~ One Riddim Album
Special Delivery Music
December 17, 2007

Lukie D - Visions One Riddim Album Track list
  1. Morgan Heritage - Have No Fear
  2. Richie Spice - All At Once
  3. Alpheus - Mother Dearest
  4. Queen Omega & Gentleman - Revolution
  5. Lukie D - Full Of Lies
  6. Rebellion - Be Yourself
  7. Chukki Starr - Greatest Of Dem All
  8. Jah Mason feat. Sandy - We'll Be Together
  9. Oba Simba - Reminiscing
  10. Mark Wonder - Shape The Future
  11. Ryan - I Remember
  12. Bost & Bim - Vision Dub
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 1-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 7
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
During the last few years Paris-based Special Delivery Music has established its name in reggae circles with top-quality riddims created by the label's producers duo and musicians Bost & Bim. Their typical modern roots sound as well as the carefully selected artists who are allowed to voice their backdrops brought the duo and the label a number of real hits on riddims such as "Clean Vibes", "Judgement Time", "Storm Alarm", and "Dis Ya Time".

By now releases from Special Delivery Music are a guarantee for nuff niceness, and this "Visions - One Riddim Album" is no exception. Again the listener is treated to another excellent rootical backdrop, no relick of a classic riddim but a fresh original! Previously only available on 7" vinyl for a select group of reggae fans, these singles plus a few brand new tracks are now also available for cd buyers.

The Royal Family Of Reggae, Morgan Heritage, starts the proceedings in great style with "Have No Fear", one of the stand outs of this set... a real BIG tune! The high level of this album opener is maintained on Richie Spice's "All At Once". Alpheus, whose sophomore album "Everything For A Reason" was released a few weeks before this collection of tunes hit the streets, drops the solid "Mother Dearest", whilst London based label artist Queen Omega teams up with Germany's premier reggae artist Gentleman to deliver the powerful "Revolution". The golden voice of Lukie D, far too often utilized for lovers tunes, shines on the conscious "Full Of Lies", another highpoint on this album. Lyrically Rebellion's "Be Yourself" is a real nice uplifting tune, but vocally Rebellion doesn't make a very strong impression. It's good to have Chukki Starr on this riddim as he's an artist with real potential who -- in our opinion -- is somewhat underrated and underrecorded. "Greatest Of Dem All" is a solid effort, delivered in the singjay's instantly recognisable style.

Normally Jah Mason delivers songs that deal with the trials and tribulations of life, but in this case he touches a lovers theme in combination with female singer Sandy. "We'll Be Together" is a decent track, but not one that makes a real impact. Oba Simba possesses a sweet smooth voice and has already proven to be a major talent with tunes like "Promises" and "Hanky Panky" (on Special Delivery Music's "Dis Ya Time"). Here he contributes "Reminiscing", a captivating lovers tune worth of hearing and further proof that he's a name to watch for in the near future. Mark Wonder is one of those rare talents who has been overlooked for many, many years. He's a remarkable singer with an unique vocal style who often impresses with really deep meaningful songs, and "Shape The Future" is such a song! A great tune to hear and a highlight on this set. Ryan already impressed with cuts on earlier Bost & Bim riddims ("Storm Alarm" and "Dis Ya Time") and here he does it again with "I Remember".

"Vision Dub" (rather an instrumental piece than a dub outing) rounds off this very entertaining 'one riddim' album, which affirms that Special Delivery Music belongs to the premier reggae labels of France.