Vision Of Reggae
October 2, 2014

Track list
  1. Winston Francis - I Don't Know Why
  2. The Gaylads - Little Candle
  3. George Wright - I Love You
  4. Cornell Campbell - A Love That's True
  5. Teezy - Ghetto Girl
  6. Earl Cunningham - What Kind Of Woman
  7. Charlie Chaplin - Don't Run
  8. The Royals - If You Want Good
  9. Copie Copewell - Piece Of The Action
  10. Don Carlos - Never Run Away
  11. Earl Sixteen - Mighty One
  12. Ken Parker - What Kind Of World
  13. Lacksley Castell - Play Games
  14. Prince Far I - Survival
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The Roy Cousins produced compilation set "Vision Of Reggae" collects 14 tracks from the Tamoki-Wambesi-Dove vaults. The tracks, all of them recorded between 1977 and 1982, first appeared on vinyl LP in 1986 and were re-released on cd in December 2013. Roy Cousins' production works feature many original heavyweight roots riddims and so does this album. Riddims that underpin this collection of tunes were laid by great players of instruments like Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace, Style Scott, Earl "Bagga" Walker, Lloyd Parks, Gladstone Anderson, Robbie Lyn, Pablove Black, Bertram "Ranchie" McLean, Bingy Bunny, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Dwight Pinkney, Noel "Sowell Radic" Bailey and Noel "Skully" Simms. Recordings were done at Channel One, Aquarius, King Tubby's, Harry J's and Tuff Gong by engineers such as Scientist, Bunny Tom Tom, Prince Jammy, Christopher Daley, Errol Brown and Sylvan Morris.

"Vision Of Reggae" is a wicked selection of tunes ranging from lovers to roots to early dancehall, delivered by well respected veterans such as Prince Far I, Cornell Campbell, Don Carlos, Earl Sixteen and, of course, (Roy Cousins &) The Royals as well as lesser known artists like George Wright, Teezy and Copie Copewell. It's Winston Francis who gets things going with his well done version of Delroy Wilson's much covered Studio One classic "I Don't Know Why". Unfortunately this track hasn't been edited properly and thus - at an unexpected moment - the song suddenly comes to an end. Among the remaining 13 tracks you won't find disappointing efforts, only tunes that range from solid to strong. In particular Cornell Campbell's "A Love That True", Earl Cunningham's "What Kind Of Woman", The Royals' "If You Want Good", Don Carlos' "Never Run Away" and Earl Sixteen's "Mighty One" are above average, while the real killers are Copie Copewell's "Piece Of The Action", Locksley Castell's "Play Games" and Prince Far I's "Survival". Also worth playing over and over again are "I Love You" by gifted Jamaican reggae singer George Wright, who had hits with "You Are The One I Love" and "Secret Admirer", and Teezy's "Ghetto Girl", taken from the album he shared with Junior Reid, "Two Of A Kind".

You certainly can't go wrong with this compilation set, so check it out!