Various artists album review
CD / 2LP
11 - 09 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Beenie Man - Moses Cry
  2. Ward 21 - Firehouse Anthem
  3. Elephant Man - Fake Man
  4. Harry Toddler & Wayne Marshall - The Pledge
  5. Lexxus - Who The F***
  6. Mr. Vegas - In A Di Ghetto
  7. Bounty Killer - Warlord's World
  8. Wayne Marshall & Baby G - Flossing
  9. Red Rat - Thief
  10. Mad Cobra - Fraid A Wi
  11. Ricky Rudy aka Bling Dog - For Life
  12. Madd Anju - Get Involve
  13. T.O.K. - Ready
  14. Amin Brasco - Bang Bang
  15. Goofy - Look Out Fi Dem
  16. Admiral Bailey - Work With It
  17. Shaka Pow - Dem Bwoy Deh
  18. Cutty Ranks - Badman Sittin
  19. Kiprich - Anger
  20. Ward 21, Elephant Man & Wayne Marshall - One More (Start A War)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Once again the familiar concept on the fourth album in "Greensleeves Rhythm Album Series"... hardcore bashment all the way featuring all the usual suspects of today's Dancehall scene including namebrand stars Beenie Man, Bounty Killer, Elephant Man, Ward 21, Red Rat, Lexxus, Goofy and Mr. Vegas and "want-to-be" stars Ricky Rudy aka Bling Dog, Wayne Marshall, Kiprich and Amin Brasco. The "Volume" set collects more cuts to the King Jammy - in association with Ward 21 - produced and created riddim of the same name than one can shake a stick at, making this set a welcome alternative for dancehall fans who want to purchase the sharpest cuts on a riddim in one affordable buy.
The charttopper Beenie Man and the incredible Ward 21 raise the temperature and push one to fever point with their wicked pieces "Moses Cry" and "Firehouse Anthem". Then it is the turn of the combination Harry "Nah Nah Nah" Toddler & Wayne Marshall, Lexxus, Mr. Vegas and Bounty Killer to deliver up the deadly goods with their hustling takes on the riddim. Especially Bounty Killer's "Warlord's World" - which was a dubplate favourite in the dancehalls - is a truly awesome effort with a strong lyrical content. Also lighters in the air for entertaining versions from Elephant Man, Mad Cobra, T.O.K., Cutty Ranks, Admiral Bailey and the much promising Kiprich, who seemingly effortless finds his flow and rides the riddim perfectly. Finally Ward 21, Elephant Man and Wayne Marshall team up in "One More (Start A War)" to round off this "Volume" with a different flavour. This dancehall riddim set cannot be missed, especially if you want them real heavy!

Teacher & Mr. T.