Various artists album review
Wailers And Friends

Tracking list

  1. Bob Andy And The Wailers - I've Got To Go Back Home
  2. Delroy Wilson And The Wailers - Jerk All Night
  3. Rita Marley & The Soulettes With The Wailers - That Ain't Right
  4. Ken Boothe And The Wailers - The Train Is Coming
  5. Bob Marley & Marcia Griffiths - Oh My Darling
  6. Rita Marley & The Soulettes With The Wailers - One More Chance
  7. Bob Marley And The Wailers - Tell Them Lord
  8. Lord Brynner And The Wailers - Where's Sammy Gone
  9. Jack Sparrow And The Wailers - Ice Water
  10. Rita Marley & The Soulettes With The Wailers - Friends And Lovers
  11. Bob Marley And The Wailers - Rude Boy
  12. Lee 'Scratch' Perry (a.k.a. King Perry) And The Wailers - Pussy Galore
  13. Bunny Livingston & Rita Marley - Bless You
  14. Jackie Opel And The Wailers - A Time To Cry
  15. Rita Marley & The Soulettes With The Wailers - A Deh Pon Dem
  16. Delroy Wilson And The Wailers - I Want Justice
  17. Jackie Opel And The Wailers - The Mill Man
  18. Joanne Dennis And The Wailers - Don't Cry Over Me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

No less than eightteen titles culled from the extensive archives of Studio One are burned onto compact disc to provide crisp and clean listening pleasure. Featured are classic tracks alongside obscure gems, which were recorded at Jamaican Recording and Publishing Studio from early 1964 through the summer of 1966. During these years the musical charms of ska music ruled Jamaica, but probably only a few know it was also the period that the Wailers recorded exclusively for Coxsone Dodd. In addition to their own recording schedule, the Wailers were often engaged as backup vocalists for several of the ska's era greatest artists. In that capacity, their voices graced many important and historic sides as well as several big local hits.
This fine compilation set mainly focuses on that part of the Wailers' musical career, although it also features two recordings of their own : the frantic, uptempo ska tune Tell Them Lord with Bob Marley being the lead vocalist and one of the biggest records of the ska era Rude Boy also known as Rude Boy Ska. From Bob Andy's bitter sweet repatriation cry I've Got To Go Back Home through Joanne Dennis' Don't Cry Over Me you are treated to a solid and very enjoyable mixture of Dodd's late r&b and ska work delivered by many fine renown and lesser known singers.
One look at the track listing of this album has to be enough to let you know that this is another fine release in Heartbeat's series documenting the foundation recordings of the young Bob Marley and the Wailers. Great and timeless music from the sixties !

Teacher & Mr. T.