Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ White Liva
VP Records-Walboomers Music
22 - 08 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Spragga Benz & Notch - Gwaan Gal
  2. Lady Saw - Ride All Night
  3. Elephant Man - When Nature Call
  4. Mr. Easy - Call Dem Gal Deh (Radio Edit)
  5. Red Rat - Hey Gal
  6. Tony Curtis - One Night Stand
  7. Mr. Lex - I Love You
  8. Wayne Anthony - You Don't Have To Call
  9. Mad Cobra - Hot Gal
  10. Mr. Vegas - Mash Dem Up
  11. Sean Paul - Get Me High
  12. Honorabel - Please Har
  13. Christopher - Educated
  14. Bling Dawg - Call Me Dog
  15. White Liva (Da Song) Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Fifteen cuts to the "White Liva" riddim featuring all the usual dancehall names are included on another installment of VP's fast growing "Riddim Driven" series. The "White Liva" comes from the Miami based hit house of Richard "Richie D" Martin, the infamous producer/selector that already treated the dancehall massive to hit riddims such as "Faith", "Groovin", "Broadway" and "Scotch Bonnet". Producer Richie D keeps the vibe bubbling on this brand new riddim. The sound is fueled by sub-sonic bass line and drums contrasted by a snake charmer flute and orchestral string riffs. The backbeat is accented with a currently in fashion Tabla drum pattern that all adds up to a nice kind of Ragga-Bangara vibe. Right from the start it's obvious that the "White Liva" is the perfect dancefloor filler as it is an extremely mesmerizing dancehall riddims. Although fresh dancehall talent is represented by up-and-coming artists like Wayne Anthony, Honorabel and Christopher this set stars mainly the usual bashment names. The combination tune "Gwaan Gal" from Spragga Benz & Notch (former member of Born Jamaicans) is a great album opener, which is followed by Lady Saw's solid "Ride All Night". The ever present Elephant Man delivers the next solid piece, while "Call Dem Gal Deh" by singer Mr. Easy belongs to the standouts included here. Next are cuts from Red Rat, Tony Curtis and Mr. Lex, all nice efforts across the riddim, but that's about it. "You Don't Have To Call" is a notable effort delivered by much promising new singer Wayne Anthony. Mad Cobra and Mr. Vegas treat us to matching cuts, before Sean Paul's outstanding "Get Me High" drops in. Also worth hearing are Christopher's very enjoyable "Educated" and Bling Dawg's "Call Me Dog".
Note : Apart from "White Liva (Da Song) Version" which runs for 4:59, the playing time of the tracks ranges from 2:24 to 2:51.

Teacher & Mr. T.