World Consciousness Unification Project Vol. 2 ~ World Needs Riddim
Sick Donkey Records
Digital Release
January 4, 2013

World Needs Riddim - Various Artists Track list
  1. Essential I & The Lambsbread - Cool And Humble
  2. Lutan Fyah - Changes
  3. Jahson Ites feat. Rocker T - Let It Be Known
  4. Junior Toots & Ishi Dube - Mountain Of Jah
  5. Adrian Xavier - In My Dreams
  6. Jah Sun & Chezidek - Stronger
  7. Hailee Araya - Found A Way
  8. World Needs Riddim (Instrumental Version)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 2-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 3
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
This "World Needs Riddim" set follows up the 2009 released "Standing Firm" riddim and is the second volume of the "World Consciousness Unification Project" aka "World C.U.P.", a way of bringing conscious, positive and uplifting recording artists from all reaches of the earth together in, and in pursuit of unity. And thus the listener is again treated to a 'one riddim' set that includes collaborations and individual contributions between well-known artists and composers as well as lesser known upcoming artists form all over the globe.

Just like the first installment, this compilation features the names of Jahson Ites, Essential I, Rocker T, Adrian Xavier, Ishi Dube, Jah Sun, Lutan Fyah, and Chezidek. New artists who are involved in this praiseworthy project are Lambsbread, Junior Toots, and Hailee Araya. The "World Needs Riddim" turns out to be a beautiful, meditative backdrop, punctuated by a moody melodica that somewhat brings to mind some of Augustus Pablo's later works, and thus truly is a worthy follow-up to its predecessor.

And it's again the hardly ever disappointing Lutan Fyah who delivers another big tune for the "World C.U.P." project, this time the superb "Changes". The latter is a calling for changes for the people of the world. The system is broken and only we can be the change we want to see. It's time for all of us to do our best every day to step up our efforts for a better world. Without any doubt the leader of the pack here. Other worthwhile efforts that deserve to be played over and over again are the solid "Let It Be Known" by Jahson Ites & Rocker T, "Mountain Of Jah" by Junior Toots & Ishe Dube, and the collaboration tune by Jah Sun & Chezidek called "Stronger", which Jah Sun chose to be the title track for his full length album. The vocal part of this set is rounded off in real fine style by Hailee Araya, whose anti-violence tune "Found A Way" fully showcases the talent and skill of this up and coming singer/songwriter of Ethiopian and Swedish ancestry.

A thorougly entertaining 'one riddim' set, which keeps the fire of this movement, ignited by the "Standing Firm" riddim, burning.